Sam Warburg Named Pac-10 Player of the Year

May 6, 2005

Walnut Creek, Calif. - Senior Sam Warburg was named as the Pac-10 men's Player of the Year for the second straight season, and the duo of Warburg and junior KC Corkery was tabbed for Pac-10 Doubles Team of the Year honors as announced by the conference office on Friday. Warburg also earned first team All-Conference honors, while Corkery was named to the All-Pac-10 second team.

Warburg, the nation's No. 1 ranked player according to the most recent ITA rankings, received Player of the Year honors after capturing his second straight Pac-10 singles title in April. Warburg has posted a 36-5 overall record this season, and a 21-2 mark in dual match play. The Sacramento native recently received the No. 2 seed in the upcoming NCAA singles tournament, and enters the post-season on a 15-match winning streak.

Warburg was also named to the All-Pac-10 first team for the second straight season and has now captured conference honors for three consecutive years, receiving second team recognition as a sophomore.

The No. 3 ranked tandem of Warburg and Corkery captured the Pac-10 doubles title in April and has posted an overall record of 35-6 this season. The duo has gone 19-2 against Pac-10 competition and 14-5 against nationally ranked opposition during the 2005 campaign. The defending NCAA doubles champions, Warburg and Corkery were recently selected to compete in the 2005 NCAA doubles tournament.

Corkery, the No. 15 ranked singles player in the nation, was named to the All-Pac-10 second team for the third straight season after posting a 28-6 overall record and a 20-3 mark in dual match play. Corkery was also selected to compete in the NCAA singles tournament, and has won eight straight matches heading into the post-season.

Sophomore James Wan received his second straight All-Pac-10 honorable mention nod after posting a 25-10 record and garnering a No. 73 ITA ranking. Wan, the 2004 Pac-10 Co-Freshman of the Year, has gone 17-6 in dual matches for the Cardinal and advanced to the quarterfinals of the Pac-10 singles tournament in April.

Stanford will begin its quest for the NCAA team title next weekend, when the Cardinal travels to Malibu to face San Diego in first round action. The winner of that match will advance to second round play to meet the winner of the first round contest between host Pepperdine and UC Irvine.


Men's Player of the Year
Sam Warburg, STAN

Men's Doubles Team of the Year
KC Corkery/Sam Warburg, STAN

Men's Newcomer of the Year
Benjamin Kohlloeffel, UCLA

Men's Coach of the Year
Matt Anger, WASH

Men's First Team
Benjamin Kohlloeffel, UCLA
Conor Niland, CAL
Luben Pampoulov, UCLA
Sven Swinnen, ORE
Alex Vlaski, WASH
Sam Warburg, STAN

Men's Second Team
Jamil Al-Agba, USC
KC Corkery, STAN
Drew Hoskins, USC
Roger Matalonga, ARIZ
Christoph Palmanshofer, WASH
Alex Slovic, WASH

Honorable Mention
Christopher Biro, ASU
Patrick Briaud, CAL
Kris Kwinta, UCLA
Clint Letcher, ASU
Lennart Maack, CAL
Colin O'Grady, ARIZ
James Wan, STAN

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder