2005 Pac-10 Softball All-Conference Teams Announced

May 18, 2005

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- In a vote of the league's eight head coaches, Arizona outfielder Caitlin Lowe and Washington catcher Kristen Rivera were named Co-Pacific-10 Conference Softball Players of the Year. Oregon State's Brianne McGowan was named Pitcher of the Year, UCLA freshman Anjelica Selden was named Newcomer of the Year and Stanford shortstop Lauren Lappin received Defensive Player of the Year honors. Coach of the Year was awarded to Oregon State's Kirk Walker, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Lowe, a sophomore from Tustin, Calif., followed her outstanding freshman campaign a year ago with an impressive sophomore season at Arizona. Lowe is currently first in the Conference and second in the nation with a .518 batting average. She has 86 hits this season, topping the rest of the Conference by 22 hits. She is one of 10 finalists for USA Softball Player of the Year, announced after the 2005 WCWS. Lowe was named Player of the Week in the Pac-10 once during March.

Rivera, a senior from Perris, Calif., received her second consecutive Player of the Year honor. She helped lead the Huskies to their 12th consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance. Rivera currently ranks in five national categories, including the top spot in slugging percentage (.955) and walks (63). Her 77 career home runs and 175 walks ranks fourth and tied for fifth, respectively, all-time in the Pac-10. Rivera is a three-time All-American, and is one of the 10 finalists for USA Softball Player of the Year. She is the only Husky to earn Pac-10 Player of the Year honor twice.

McGowan, a sophomore from Reno, Nev., helped lead the Beavers to their first ever share of the Pac-10 title and an automatic berth into the 2005 NCAA Tournament. She is the only pitcher in school history to amass more than 30 victories in a single-season, and her 33 wins on the year rank second in the nation. McGowan tops the OSU charts with 293 strikeouts and innings pitched in a single season with 268. She matched OSU's record for complete games in a single season with 30. McGowan was named Pac-10 Pitcher of the Week four times and USA Softball National Player of the Week once. She is Oregon State's first Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year award recipient.

Lappin, from Anaheim, Calif., led the Cardinal to their first ever share of the Pac-10 title this season. In 54 games played thus far, Lappin leads the league in assists with 147 assists and carries a fielding percentage of .943. The 2004 second-team All-American was an alternate to the 2004 USA Olympic team and has been invited to participate in the 2005 National Team Selection Camp. Lappin was named Pac-10 Player of the Week once this season and was one of the top 25 finalists for USA Softball Player of the Year. This is the first Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year award to be honored.

Selden, a freshman from Vacaville, Calif., paced the Bruins this season on the mound and led them to their 22nd NCAA appearance. Selden is currently third in the Conference with a 1.08 earned run average. She has amassed a total of 346 strikeouts, which puts her 13 strikeouts behind UCLA's current single-season leader. Selden earned Pac-10 Pitcher of the Week honors four times this season and was named the USA Softball National Player of the Week once. This is UCLA's fourth Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year award and first since 1997.

Walker, in his 11th season at Oregon State, earned his second Coach of the Year award. He previously shared Coach of the Year honors with UCLA's Sue Enquist in 1999. Walker guided Oregon State to its best Pac-10 finish in school history (13-8, tie 1st). He led the Beavers to a 40-14 mark this season, including a school-best 13 Pac-10 victories and a share of their first ever Pac-10 title. Walker has led the Beavers to postseason action seven consecutive years. This is the second Pac-10 Coach of the Year honor for an Oregon State coach, both by Walker.

Caitlin Lowe, Arizona
Kristen Rivera, Washington

Brianne McGowan, Oregon State

Anjelica Selden, UCLA

Lauren Lappin, Stanford

Kirk Walker, Oregon State


Player School Yr Pos HometownKelly Anderson CAL SR P Woodland, Calif.Caitlin Benyi UCLA JR 2B Scottsdale, Ariz.Andrea Duran UCLA JR 3B Selma, Calif.Kristie Fox ARIZ SO SS San Diego, Calif.Vicky Galindo CAL SR 3B Union City, Calif.Alicia Hollowell ARIZ JR P Suisun, Calif.Lauren Lappin STAN JR SS Anaheim, Calif.Caitlin Lowe ARIZ SO OF Tustin, CalifBrianne McGowan OSU SO P Reno, Nev.Catalina Morris STAN JR OF Sonoita, Ariz.Kristen Rivera WASH SR C Perris, Calif.Kristina Thorson CAL JR P Lake Forest Park, Wash.Anjelica Selden UCLA FR P Vacaville, Calif.Michelle Smith STAN FR 3B Agoura Hills, Calif.


Player School Yr Pos HometownAutumn Champion ARIZ JR OF Tustin, Calif.Adrienne Alo OSU JR 3B Carson, Calif.Lovean Chaput ORE FR OF Tualatin, Ore.Ashley Charters WASH FR SS Newberg, Ore.Mindy Cowles ASU FR UT Riverside, Calif.Kaleo Eldridge CAL SR OF Kahului, HawaiiKathy Fiske WASH SR 3B Temecula, Calif.Amy Harris ORE JR P Eugene, Ore.Vanessa Iapala OSU JR 1B San Diego, Calif.Lindsay James CAL JR OF San Carlos, Calif.Mia Longfellow OSU SO UT Ramona, Calif.Leah Nelson STAN SR C Oakland, Calif.Haley Woods CAL JR C Burlingame, Calif.Emily Zaplatosch UCLA JR C Scottsdale, Ariz.


Player School Yr Pos HometownLisa Allen OSU JR C Canby, Ore.Beth Boskovich ORE JR 1B Camarillo, Calif.Katie Burkhart ASU FR P San Luis Obispo, Calif.Jackie Coburn ARIZ SR 3B Phoenix, Ariz.Crystal Farley ARIZ SR OF Lompoc, Calif.Erin Goodell ORE SR 2B Roseburg, Ore.Lauren Greer WASH FR OF Placentia, Calif.Sarah Hyatt WASH JR 1B Sedro-Wooley, Wash.Heidi Knabe ASU SO C Simi Valley, Calif.Jodie Legaspi UCLA SO SS/UT Garden Grove, Calif.Dominique Lastrapes WASH SO 2B Laguna Hills, Calif.Becky McCullough STAN FR P Moraga, Calif.Aimee Minor WASH JR OF San Jacinto, Calif.Cambria Miranda OSU FR UT Camarillo, Calif.Jessica Pamanian CAL SR 2B Milpitas, Calif.Kelly Petersen OSU SR SS San Diego, Calif.Ashley Richards ORE SR 3B/C Richland, Wash.Jackie Rinehart STAN SO OF Reno, Nev.Breanne Sabol ORE JR SS Buena Park, Calif.Chelsea Spencer CAL SR SS San Leandro, Calif.Sharee Zaleski ASU SO 1B Santa Ana, Calif.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder