California Places Eight on All-Pac-10 Team

May 18, 2005


Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Complete All-Pac-10 Team
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Led by first team members Kelly Anderson, Vicky Galindo and Kristina Thorson, the California softball team landed eight players on the 2005 All-Pac-10 Conference team when the results were released Wednesday. The Bears' eight selections are the most of any conference school and tie the Cal program mark established last season.

Joining Anderson, Galindo and Thorson were second team picks Kaleo Eldredge, Lindsay James and Haley Woods and honorable mention selections Jessica Pamanian and Chelsea Spencer.

Thorson, who led the Pac-10 with a 1.00 ERA and finished the regular season at 21-4, was also named to the conference's first team in 2004 along with Galindo, who led the 2005 Bears in batting average (.340), runs (40), doubles (11) and stolen bases (17). Anderson (24-7), a second team selection the past two seasons, was fifth in the conference this year with a 1.26 ERA.

Eldredge, the first four-time all-conference selection since Candace Harper (1999-02), batted .322 with 35 RBI. The center fielder was the only Cal starter with a 1.000 fielding percentage. Left fielder James was hitting .478 at the time a pitched ball broke her left hand on April 8. She is poised to become Cal's single-season hitting leader and the Bears' first .400 batter since Gillian Boxx (.466) in 1995. Catcher Woods posted Cal's top marks for home runs (13), RBI (52), total bases (99) and slugging percentage (.579).

Second baseman Pamanian batted .270 with 48 hits and 25 RBI while Spencer hit .278 with 45 hits and six doubles. Spencer has started 267 consecutive games at shortstop dating back to her freshman year.

Arizona's Caitlin Lowe, the conference's leading hitter at .518, and Washington's Kristen Rivera, whose .955 slugging percentage leads the nation, were named Co-Players of the Year. Oregon State's Brianne McGowan (33-8, 1.72) was selected as the Pitcher of the Year while UCLA freshman hurler Anjelica Selden (19-10, 1.08) was picked as the Newcomer of the Year. Stanford shortstop Lauren Lappin was tabbed as Defensive Player of the Year. Oregon State head coach Kirk Walker, whose Beavers were picked to finish seventh in the Pac-10 in a preseason coaches poll and won a share of the championship, was picked as Coach of the Year.

Cal, the Pac-10 co-champions, begins NCAA Tournament play May 19 at the Fresno State Regional against BYU. First pitch at Bulldog Diamond is slated for 8:30 p.m.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder