Ellsbury Is Semifinalist For Howser Trophy

May 19, 2005

HATTIESBURG, Miss. - Oregon State junior outfielder Jacoby Ellsbury is among 16 semifinalists for the Xanthus-Dick Howser Trophy, given to the top player in collegiate baseball, it was announced Thursday. The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association, working in conjunction with the St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce, awards the trophy each season. The membership of the NCBWA will choose the Xanthus-Dick Howser Trophy based on three rounds of voting. The 2005 winner will announced at the College World Series in Omaha on June 17.

Ellsbury (Madras, Ore./Madras HS) is batting .426 with six home runs, two triples, 16 doubles, 41 runs batted in and 20 stolen bases so far this season. He was named to Baseball America magazine's preseason and midseason All-America teams, and BA named him the Pac-10's best defensive outfielder and fastest baserunner in its preseason outlook; he has helped Oregon State into the top five in all four national polls as the Beavers (39-8 overall, 17-4 Pacific-10) go into this weekend's series against Southern California.

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award.

Criteria for consideration for the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life.

A Florida native, Howser was twice an All-America shortstop at Florida State University (1957-58), then coached the Seminoles in 1979 after a career as a major league player and coach. After one year in the college ranks, Howser returned to the majors to manage the New York Yankees and Kansas City Royals and won the World Series with the Royals in 1985. The baseball stadium on the Florida State campus is named for Howser.

The winner's name is inscribed on the permanent trophy, a bronze bust of Howser permanently displayed at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, home of the Tampa Bay Devil Rays and the 1999 NCAA Men's Basketball Final Four. Both the winner and his school receive a special trophy to keep.

The St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce is in its 105th year of existence in 2004. The organization has long been a vital force in the baseball affairs of the city, both in spring training and during the pursuit of a major league baseball franchise for the Tampa Bay area, and continues its solid role in the 21st Century.

NCBWA membership includes writers, broadcasters and publicists. Designed to promote and publicize college baseball, it is the sport's only college media-related organization, founded in 1962.

Xanthus Higher Education is a progressive, multi-faceted organization that endeavors to assist institutions of higher learning in all aspects of educational debt management, including assisting with student loan allocation and debt consolidation. This is accomplished through the development of strategic alliances and partnerships with selected organizations throughout the United States. Launched in 2002, Xanthus Higher Education is headquartered in St. Petersburg, Fla.

The Howser Trophy was created in 1987, shortly after Howser's death.

PREVIOUS DICK HOWSER TROPHY WINNERS: Mike Fiore, Miami, 1987; Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State, 1988; Scott Bryant, Texas, 1989; Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade Community College South, 1990; Frank Rodriguez, Howard College (Texas), 1991; Brooks Kieschnick, Texas, 1992 and 1993; Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech, 1994; Todd Helton, Tennessee, 1995; Kris Benson, Clemson, 1996; J. D. Drew, Florida State, 1997; Eddy Furniss, LSU, 1998; Jason Jennings, Baylor, 1999; Mark Teixeira, Georgia Tech, 2000; Mark Prior, P, USC, 2001, Khalil Greene, SS, Clemson, 2002; Rickey Weeks, 2B, Southern U., 2003 and Jered Weaver, P, Long Beach State, 2004.

2005 DICK HOWSER TROPHY SEMIFINALISTS: Brian Bogusevic, P-OF, Tulane; Lance Broadway, P, Texas Christian; Cesar Carillo, P, Miami (Fla.); Mike Costanzo, P-1B, Coastal Carolina; Jacoby Ellsbury, OF, Oregon State; Alex Gordon, 3B, Nebraska; Tyler Greene, SS, Georgia Tech; Luke Hochevar, P, Tennessee; Seth Johnston, SS, Texas; Ian Kennedy, P, Southern California; Ryan Patterson, OF, Louisiana State; Brian Pettway, OF, Mississippi; Shane Robinson, OF, Florida State; Ricky Romero, P, Cal State Fullerton; Gabe Scott, OF, Alabama; Corey Wimberley, 2B, Alcorn State.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder