Three Huskies Named To All-Pacific Region Teams

May 18, 2005

SEATTLE-- Three Washington Huskies were named to the Louisville Slugger/NFCA Division I All-Pacific Region softball teams today, including first team selection Kristen Rivera and second team selections Sarah Hyatt and Dominique Lastrapes.

Rivera, a senior catcher from Perris, Calif., was a first team selection for the third-straight year. She ranks among the top five in the country in five categories and leads the nation in slugging percentage and walks. Her 77 career home runs rank fourth all-time in the Pac-10. Rivera is a three-time All-American and has been a top 10 finalist for USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year each of the last three seasons. She was also named Co-Pac-10 Player of the Year for the second time earlier today.

Lastrapes, a sophomore second baseman from Mission Viejo, Calif., boasts a .316 batting average with 49 hits and 42 runs scored. Lastrapes, a third team All-America selection last year, has hit 10 doubles and three home runs this season. She was named to the Pac-10 All-Conference honorable mention team.

Hyatt, a junior first baseman from Sedro-Woolley, Wash., ranks third on the team with 13 home runs and 40 RBIs. She ranks fifth on the UW all-time list with 34 career home runs and eighth with 108 career RBIs. Hyatt has had 12 multi-RBI games this season and was named to the All-Pac-10 honorable mention selection.

Rivera, Hyatt and Lastrapes are now eligible for the All-America award. The Louisville Slugger/NFCA All-America teams will be announced during the week of the Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City, Okla.Washington opens the NCAA Tournament as the No. 1 seed at the No. 16 Regional in Lincoln, Neb. The Huskies will face Creighton on Friday, May 20 at 5 pm (PST). All of Washington's postseason games will air live on KKNW 1150-AM.

2005 Pacific All Region Softball Teams

First Team

Pitcher Brianne McGowan Oregon State
Pitcher Alicia Hollowell Arizona
Catcher Kristen Rivera Washington
First Base Vanessa Iapala Oregon State
Second Base Caitlin Benyi UCLA
Third Base Vicky Galindo CAL
Shortstop Kristie Fox Arizona
Outfield Caitlin Lowe Arizona
Outfield Catalina Morris Stanford
Outfield Kaleo Eldredge CAL
DP Cambria Miranda Oregon State
Utility T.J. Eadus Oregon

Second Team

Pitcher Kristina Thorson CAL
Pitcher Anjelica Seldon UCLA
Catcher Haley Woods CAL
First Base Sarah Hyatt Washington
Second Base Dominique Lastrapes Washington
Third Base Michelle Smith Stanford
Shortstop Lauren Lappin Stanford
Outfield Autumn Champion Arizona
Outfield Adrienne Alo Oregon State
Outfield Lindsay James CAL
DP no nomination
Utility Kayala Meeks Loyola Marymount

PSCS Player of the Year - Margo Pineda Loyola Marymount
PSCS Pitcher of the Year - Tiffany Pagano Loyola Marymount

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder