2005 Track and Field Banquet Award Winners

May 20, 2005

Berkeley, CA -

With the Pac-10 championships behind them and the NCAA championships still ahead, the Golden Bears celebrated their season at the Track and Field Awards Banquet. The event honored the accomplishments of the 2005 campaign along with recognizing inductees into the 'Big C Society.'

A pair of 800m runners received he award for Most Valuable Newcomer. Freshman Alex McClary scored at the MPSF championships, the 111th Big Meet and had a clutch performance at the Pac-10 championships where he broke 1:49.00 for the second time in two weeks. At the Pac-10 championships freshman Alysia Johnson placed third in the women's 800m by shaving nearly three-seconds off her lifetime best.

The Al Ragan Award for the most improved athlete was shared on the men's side by senior Brandon Williams and junior Jonas Hallgrimsson. Williams came into the season with a lifetime best of 23-6.25 and shattered that mark at the MPSF championships with a leap of 24-2.5. Hallgrimsson meanwhile, completed his first decathlon as a Golden Bear at this year's Pac-10 championships with lifetime best score of 7,002 points and followed that performance with a lifetime best throw in the individual javelin at 213-6. Hallgrimsson has been steadily improving his distance in the javelin all year and posted a win at the 2005 Brutus Hamilton Invitational. At USC Hallgrimsson had a previous lifetime best of 6,855 points before transferring to Cal. Before this season Hallgrimsson's PR in the javelin was 170-7. Aside from being a member of the school record setting 4x100m relay of 2004 and the sprint medley relay that set the school record this year, senior Shannan Hawes has lowered both her PR's in the 100m and 200m to 11.85 and 24.11 along with being part of a 4x400m relay at the Pac-10 championship that finished third in the second fastest time in school history. Hawes now ranks sixth all-time at Cal for the 100m and eighth in the 200m.

The Brutus Hamilton Award for outstanding academic achievement went to redshirt freshman Craig Gallimore and senior Lindsey Maclise. This semester Gallimore was accepted into the School of Mechanical Engineering, while Maclise is graduating with a degree in civil engineering.

The Scott Norby-Cedillo Award for outstanding mental attitude, which is only in its third year of existence, was given to freshman Yahya Abdul-Mateen and Alysia Johnson. Abdul-Mateen competed this year in both hurdle events and horizontal jumps. At the 111th Big Meet Abdul-Mateen stopped Stanford from scoring in the 400mH and beat out a favored Stanford decathlete in the 110mH to help Cal to an 85-78 victory.

Awards for Most Outstanding Track Athlete went to another pair of 800m runners. Freshman Alex McClary collected again, while Senior Chloe Jarvis was given the award on the women's side. Jarvis, who owns a lifetime best of 2:03.62, capped off her senior season with a pair of conference titles and All-American honors garnered during the indoor season. Jarvis won the 2005 MPSF title in the 800m with a time of 2:06.65 and captured the Pac-10 title convincingly with a time of 2:04.53, her fastest in a Cal uniform.

Most Outstanding Field Athletes were recognized next. Junior transfer Paul Teinert's, school record breaking performance in the javelin ranks him seventh in the country. His throw of 235-11 at the Pac-10 championships was his very first attempt and cinched the conference title up right away for the junior. With that throw Teinert became Head Coach Chris Huffins first individual conference champ as an athlete that falls under his event category. Senior Brooke Meredith won the award on the women's side. The fierce multi-eventer not only scored as a heptathlete at this year at the Pac-10 championships, but also in the 400mH with a lifetime best of , an event that is not part of the heptathlon. The All-American is also the school record holder in the javelin at 148-0.

The Walter Christie Award for most outstanding performance was given to Paul Teinert for his performance at the Pac-10 championships along with the trio of women's 800m runners that scored at that same meet. Sophomore Whitney Schmucker, Alysia Johnson, and Chloe Jarvis not only scored 19 points for the Bears in the 800m, but they also did double duty on the women's 4x400m relay, running the second fastest time in school history of 3:37.62 and finishing third ahead of teams they had not beaten all season. The performance made them a group win for the Walter Christie Award.

The Golden Bear Award for most valuable team member went to Senior Rhuben Williams and Junior Antonette Carter. Williams has scored points in every conference meet he has participated in since he was a freshman on the Golden Bear squad when he earned All-America honors in the shot put. That same year, Williams set the freshman school record in the event at 60-9.25. Last year Williams scored in all three throwing events he participated in, finishing third in the shot put and discus and fourth in the hammer. This year Williams had his highest Pac-10 finish ever with a near PR throw 64-2.5 for second place in the men's shot. Carter currently owns school records in the 100m, 200m, 4x100m relay and the sprint medley relay, along with standing fourth on the Cal All-Time list for the long jump. This year Carter lowered her 100m record to 11.43 at the Pac-10 championships and set her long jump mark of 20-8.5 at the 2005 Florida Relays. At the Pac-10 Championships this year, Carter contributed to scoring 21 points.


Presented by Don Bowden and Joe Griffin:

Greg Ross, Paul Teinert, Nestor Solis, Yahya Abdul-Mateen, Jonathan Suddaby, Andy McClary, Alex McClary, Ed Wright, Craig Kent, Craig Gallimore, Nathan Rolfe, John Ludden, Rashaad Nunnally, Steven Conrad, Jonas Hallgrimsson

Artensia Young, Cassandra Strickland, Brook Turner, Tifani Grimes, Missy Faubus, Katie Morgan, Alysia Johnson


Missy Faubus
Freshman Women's Shot Put

Missy Faubus
Freshman Women's Discus

Katie Morgan
Freshman Women's Pole Vault

Antonette Carter
Women's 100m

Paul Teinert
Men's Javelin

Carter, Hawes, A. Johnson, Jarvis
Women's Sprint Medley

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder