Buck Named Semifinalist For Clemens Award

May 20, 2005

HOUSTON, Tex. - Oregon State's Dallas Buck is among pitchers from the top five teams in the country who highlight the list of 10 hurlers who were named semifinalists Friday for the second Roger Clemens Award.

Besides Buck (Newberg, Ore./Newberg HS), a sophomore righthander for the fifth-ranked Beavers (39-8 overall, 17-4 Pacific-10), the 10 pitchers include lefthander Ricky Romero of Cal State Fullerton, the defending NCAA champions who currently occupy the top spot in Baseball America magazine's rankings. Tulane, ranked first in the USA Today/ESPN coaches poll, is represented by lefthander Brian Bogusevic; Buck represents Oregon State, while righthander Cesar Carillo is the top starter for Miami.

They join righthander Mike Pelfrey of Wichta State, who was also a semifinalist for the first Clemens Award, righthander Lance Broadway of Texas Christian, righthander Luke Hochevar of Tennessee, righthander Ian Kennedy of Southern California, lefthander Cesar Ramos of Long Beach State and righthander Max Scherzer of Missouri.

The 10 were selected in an initial round of voting by all Division I head baseball coaches, a selection of national college baseball media, the16 winners of the R. E. Bob Smith Award and the three finalists from the first Clemens Award. The second round of voting to select the three finalists will run from May 24-June 2, with the results announced on June 3. The winner of the second Roger Clemens Award, will be announced on Thursday, July 14 at the Marriott Westchase Hotel in Houston.

Buck (10-1 record, 1.83 earned run average) was named by Baseball America as its top college pitcher in its mid-season report card. He was named the Pac-10 Pitcher of the Week last week after tossing a three-hit shutout against Washington. He will take on Kennedy (10-1, 2.26) in a game Friday evening at OSU's Goss Stadium at Coleman Field.

Created in 2004, The Roger Clemens Award honors the top pitcher in college baseball. The event is administered by the Greater Houston Baseball Association, who donated $80,000 to the designated beneficiaries (The Roger Clemens Foundation, The Karl Young Summer College Baseball League and Baseball USA) from the net proceeds from the first annual dinner. The GHBA is a non-profit 501.3 (C) organization dedicated to the growth of amateur baseball in the Houston area.

The Roger Clemens Award was named after future Hall of Famer Roger Clemens, who began his march to stardom while leading the University of Texas to the College World Series title in 1983. Entering the 2005 major league season, Clemens has won over 330 games, fanned over 4,000 hitters and won and seven Cy Young Awards, emblematic as the top pitcher in his league. The Roger Clemens Award is the only award of its kind, honoring the finest pitchers in college baseball.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder