Dave O'Neill Voted Regional Coach of the Year

May 20, 2005

BERKELEY - California, the No. 1-ranked women's rowing team in the country, placed five rowers on the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association All-West Region team, while head coach Dave O'Neill was voted the Regional Coach of the Year, the CRCA announced Friday.

The awards, presented by Pocock, recognize the outstanding accomplishments of female rowers and coxswains this season.

The Golden Bears, who took over the top spot in the latest CRCA/US Rowing poll this past week, had four first team selections (Kaylan Vander Schilden, Jelena Djukic, Iva Obradovic and coxswain Remy Hitomi). In addition, Laura Terheyden was chosen for the second team.

O'Neill, who is in his seventh season at Cal, repeated as the Regional Coach of the Year after guiding the Bears to an undefeated regular season and a second straight Pac-10 championship. He next leads his rowers to the NCAA championships May 27-29 at the Sac State Aquatic Center in Sacramento.

2005 All-West Region

First Team

Kaylan Vander Schilden      CaliforniaJelena Djukic               CaliforniaIva Obradovic               CaliforniaSamantha Magee              StanfordMissy Fiesler               StanfordJanelle Dubbins             WashingtonKristen Bixel               UCLAJody Thomas                 Washington StateSarah Dubrasich             Oregon StateLaura Harder                Sacramento StateRemy Hitomi                 California (coxswain)

Second Team

Laura Terheyden            CaliforniaSusan BeVille              StanfordStephanie Morrison         StanfordAllison De Palma           WashingtonElizabeth Pallos-Jacobs    UCLAVanessa Glendenning        Loyola MarymountBrittany McMahon           San Diego StateKelly Garneski             Stanford (coxswain)

West Region Coach of the Year: Dave O'Neill, California

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder