Ellsbury Semifinalist for Wallace Award

May 23, 2005

LUBBOCK, Tex. - Oregon State junior outfielder Jacoby Ellsbury is among 13 semifinalists for the 2005 Brooks Wallace College Player of the Year Award, it was announced Sunday evening by the College Baseball Foundation. The Wallace Award is presented annually to the nation's top collegiate baseball player and will be nationally televised on Fox Sports Network.

Ellsbury (Madras, Ore./Madras HS) has helped Oregon State (41-9 overall, 19-5 Pacific-10) to at least a share of the Pacific-10 championship this spring. He is batting .415 with six home runs, two triples, 17 doubles, 42 runs batted in and 21 stolen bases this season. He has set OSU's records for hits in a season and runs in a career this season.

The CBF National Selection Committee will narrow the list to three finalists following the NCAA Super Regionals, with an announcement in Omaha on Thursday, June 16. The annual award banquet will be held on June 30 at Texas Tech.

Dedicated to the memory of the former Texas Tech player and assistant coach, Wallace was a slick-fielding shortstop at Texas Tech from 1977-80. A four-year starter, he was named All-Southwest Conference and All-District Six his senior year, when he led the Red Raiders to their first-ever appearance in the Southwest Conference Tournament.

After playing two years in the Texas Rangers organization, he returned to Texas Tech and served as a graduate assistant, and later as an assistant coach. In the summer of 1984 he was diagnosed with cancer and fought the disease courageously until his death on March 24, 1985, at age 27.

The selection committee for the Wallace Award is comprised of a select national panel of coaches, sports information directors, former winners and beat media (print, radio and television) who most closely follow the sport on a daily basis. The Wallace Award is the only major collegiate honor of its type that tracks the nominees through the entire season, from first pitch through the completion of the NCAA College World Series. Final balloting will conclude June 28.

Kurt Suzuki of Cal State Fullerton won the 2004 Brooks Wallace Award, and the awards' lineage includes former Player of the Year winners Andy Benes, Ben McDonald, Mike Kelly, Bobby Jones, Mike Smith, Darren Dreifort, Jason Varitek, Mark Kotsay, Kris Benson, Lance Berkman, Brad Wilkerson and Jason Jennings.

2005 WALLACE AWARD SEMIFINALISTS: Lance Broadway, Texas Christian, P, jr. (Grand Prairie, Tex.); Ryan Patterson, Louisiana State, OF, sr. (Rowlett, Tex.); Cesar Carillo, Miami (Fla.), P, jr. (Chicago, Ill.);Trevor Crowe, Arizona, OF, jr. (Portland, Ore.); Ricky Romero, Cal State-Fullerton, P, jr. (East Los Angeles, Calif.); Jacoby Ellsbury, Oregon State, OF, jr. (Madras, Ore.); Alex Gordon, Nebraska, 3B, jr. (Lincoln, Neb.); Luke Hochevar, Tennessee, P, jr. (Fowler, Colo.); Brian Bogusevic, Tulane, P-DH, jr., (Oak Lawn, Ill.); Brian Pettway, Mississippi, OF, jr., (Vicksburg, Miss.); Seth Johnston, Texas, SS, jr. (Boerne, Tex.); Ian Kennedy, USC, P, so. (Huntington Beach, Calif.); Shane Robinson, Florida State, OF, so. (Tampa, Fla.).

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder