Beaver Receivers Highlighted by Online Publication

May 24, 2005

Corvallis, Ore. - National Champs.Net, a college football online publication, has selected the Oregon State University football team's receiving corps as the fifth best in Division I for the upcoming 2005 season.

The Beavers return all three starting receivers from last year's Insight Bowl champion squad, and a total of six lettermen. The group is led by 2004 Associated Press Third Team All-American and first team All-Pac-10 Conference selection senior Mike Hass. Hass was third in the nation last season with a 114.9 yards per game average, which included a Pac-10 record 293-yard performance at Boise State. He set the school record for receiving yards in one season with 1,379 and receptions with 86.

The team also returns sophomore flanker Anthony Wheat-Brown, a starter for eight games last season, and senior Josh Hawkins. Senior Marcel Love returns as the starter at the slot receiver. Sophomores Brandon Powers and Sammie Stroughter also lettered within the receiving corps.

National Champs.Net ranks LSU with the best receivers in the nation, followed by Ohio State, Louisville and Auburn. The Beavers play their first road game of the '05 season at Louisville Sept. 17.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder