UCLA Wins NCAA Tennis Championship

May 24, 2005

The UCLA men's tennis team defeated previously unbeaten and No. 1-ranked Baylor 4-3 on Tuesday night at College Station, TX to win the 2005 NCAA Men's Tennis Championship.

The title is the first for the men's tennis team since 1984. Kris Kwinta, playing No. 3 singles, won the title for the Bruins by rallying to win 4-6, 6-4, 6-4.

UCLA trailed 3-1 but rallied to win the final three singles matches. No. 5 Alberto Francis won 6-1, 4-6, 6-3 and then No. 6 Philipp Gruendler tied the match, rallying to win 4-6, 6-1, 7-6 (4), setting the stage for Kwinta.

UCLA has now won three NCAA titles this year (men's tennis, women's water polo and men's water polo) and has a total of 97 NCAA team championships -- No. 1 in the nation.

More details to follow.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder