OSU Women's Track Hosted It's Track And Cross Country Banquet This Past Weekend.

May 25, 2005

Corvallis, Ore. - OSU women's track hosted its Track and Cross Country Banquet this past Sunday evening in Corvallis, Oregon. Berny Wagner was the guest speaker, and many of the ladies were honored for their contributions to the team.

For Cross Country, sophomore Ashley Younce from Sunset High School received the award for Most Valuable. Sophomore Neoma Palmer from Catlin Gable High School received Most Improved, freshman Lauren Denfeld from Mt. View High School received Most Inspirational, while senior Marcie Aker from Sunset High School received the Senior award.

For Track, freshman Kaitlin Poggi from Gladstone High School and freshman Jean-Marie Peterson from Canby High School received the Most Valuable award. Freshman Ashley Francis from Westview High School and freshman Ashley Larson from North Salem High School received the Most Improved award. Graduate Student Taylor Bryant from Ontario High School and Nicole Crawford from Frutia Monument High School received the Most Inspirational award. Bryant also received the Senior award.

The women's cross country team also received special recognition for their academic success off the field, by being recognized as part of the NCAA All-Academic Team. The United States Coaches Association recognized the team for their outstanding grade point average of 3.589, which was ranked number five for all NCAA Division One schools, and made them the top team in the Pacific-10. Nine ladies earned first team or second team All Pac-10 Academic, and the entire team earned All-Pac 10 Academic Team.

Many of the ladies from track were honored for breaking the OSU All-Time Top 10 list for track. In the 1,500 meters, Jean-Marie Peterson broke seventh on the list while Kaitlin Poggi comes in eigth. In the 5,000 meters Ashley Younce placed fifth on the All-Time list, while Neoma Palmer is ninth. Ashley Younce also holds a third place All-Time finish in the 10,000 meters, while Nicole Crawford in sixth on the list. Lastly, the 3,000 meter steeplechase was run for the first time this year, whith Jean-Marie Peterson holding a first place All-Time finish and Lauren Denfeld holding a second place finish.

'We had a great crowd at the Banquet,' OSU head coach Kelly Sullivan said. 'We are officially in the books for year number one'.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder