USC's Clement, Arizona's Crowe Named Finalists for Golden Spikes Award

May 25, 2005

Durham, N.C. - Jeff Clement of USC and Trevor Crowe of Arizona have been selected as finalists for the 2005 Golden Spikes Award, USA Baseball announced today. For the past 27 years, USA Baseball has honored the top amateur baseball player in the country with the Golden Spikes Award. Following the first ever presentation of the Award to Bob Horner of Arizona State in 1978, the Golden Spikes Award has been presented each year to the player who exhibits exceptional athletic ability and exemplary sportsmanship.

Considered one of the top catchers in the nation, Clement is currently leading the Trojans in most offensive categories including hits (67), doubles (17), home runs (11) and RBI (44) while posting a team-high .358 batting average. The junior is the seventh all-time finalist from USC (one winner - Mark Prior '01).

Crowe is the Pac-10 leader in no less then eight offensive categories, including a .429 batting average with 76 runs scored, 24 doubles, 13 triples, nine home runs, 53 RBI and 23 stolen bases. The junior is the third all-time finalist from Arizona (one winner - Terry Francona '80).

The other finalists named were Ryan Braun of Miami, Alex Gordon of Nebraska, and Luke Hochevar of Tennessee.

The 2005 Golden Spikes Award winner will be announced during the broadcast of the 28th Annual Golden Spikes Award show at a date and time still to be determined.

The 2004 Golden Spikes Award winner was Jered Weaver of Long Beach State University. Past winners of this prestigious award include current Major League Baseball stars such as Khalil Greene ('02), Mark Prior ('01), Jason Jennings ('00), Pat Burrell ('98), J.D. Drew ('97), Travis Lee ('96), Mark Kotsay ('95), Jason Varitek ('94), Darren Dreifort ('93), and Phil Nevin ('92). Former Major League stars that have captured the award include Alex Fernandez ('90), Ben McDonald ('89), Robin Ventura ('88), Jim Abbott ('87), Will Clark ('85), Dave Magadan ('83), Terry Francona ('80), Tim Wallach ('79), and Bob Horner ('78).

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder