Monique Henderson Earns Mondo District T & F Honors

May 26, 2005

The United States Track Coaches Association announced the Mondo Outdoor District Athletes and Coaches of the Year for NCAA Div. I and UCLA senior Monique Henderson is the West Region Women's Athlete of the Year.

Henderson, on May 14-15 at the 2005 Pac-10 T & F Championships at UCLA's Drake Stadium, became only the second woman in conference meet history to repeat as the 200m (23.06)/400m (51.31) champion. Her season-best 50.91 in the 400m is No. 6 on the current world chart. An Olympic gold medal winner last summer on the U. S. 4X400m relay and the school record-holder in the 400m (50.53), Henderson this weekend in Eugene, OR will attempt to capture the 200m/400m titles at the 2005 NCAA West Region Championships.

In the men's coaching category, Bruin men's head coach Art Venegas, in his 24th year on the Bruin staff as the women/men's throws coach and sixth season as the UCLA men's head coach, captured the Men's District Coach of the Year honor for the second time in the last three years. He has directed the Bruin men to two consecutive NCAA West Region team titles and in 2004, UCLA's men won the Pac-10 Championship (two weeks ago, the Bruin men placed second at the 2005 conference meet).

The Athlete and Coach of the Year awards are sponsored by Mondo, USA, the world's largest supplier of track & field surfaces. Mondo is the official provider of all tracks and equipment for the Track and Field Competitions for the Athens Olympic Games.

Great Lakes: Aarik Wilson, Indiana (men) and Cassie Hunt, Illinois (women)
Mid-Atlantic: Sam Segond, Rutgers (men) and Shameka Marshall, Rutgers (women)
Midwest: Sheldon Battle, Kansas (men) and Anne Shadle, Nebraska (women)
Mountain: Jonathon Johnson, Texas Tech (men) and Loree Smith, Colorado State (women)
Northeast: Mustafa Abdur-Rahim, Dartmouth (men) and Caroline Bierbaum, Columbia (women)
South: Kerron Clement, Florida (men) and Chaunte Howard, Georgia Tech (women)
Southeast: Spyridon Jullien, Virginia Tech (men) and Tiffany Ross-Williams, South Carolina (women)
South Central: Peter Kosgei, Arkansas (men) and Marshevet Hooker, Texas (women)
West: Robert Cheseret, Arizona (men) and Monique Henderson, UCLA (women)

Great Lakes: Jim Knapp, Central Michigan (men) and Gary Winckler, Illinois (women)
Mid-Atlantic: Michael Mulqueen, Rutgers (men) and Alonzo Webb, Pittsburgh (women)
Midwest: Chris Bucknam, Northern Iowa (men) and Gary Peppin, Nebraska (women)
Mountain: Wes Kittley, Texas Tech (men) and Craig Poole, BYU (women)
Northeast: John Copeland, Rhode Island (men) and Lou Duesing, Cornell (women)
South: Mike Holloway, Florida (men) and Amy Deem, Miami (women)
Southeast: John Weaver, Appalachian State (men) and Curtis Frye, South Carolina (women)
South Central: John McDonnell, Arkansas (men) and Lance Harter, Arkansas (women)
West: Art Venegas, UCLA (men) and Edrick Floreal, Stanford (women)

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder