Alejandro Canizares Earns CoSIDA At-Large District 8 Academic Honor

May 26, 2005

Arizona State junior golfer Alejandro Canizares has been named an Academic All-District VIII selection for the men's at-large team as selected by the College Sports Information Director's of America (CoSIDA). He has a 3.91 grade point average and is a two-time All-American. All six of the Sun Devils who competed in the Pac-10 Championships have at least a 3.0 grade point average.

Canizares already has earned 2005 Pac-10 Player of the Year honors, joining an impressive list of Sun Devils who have won the honor including Scott Watkins (1979 co-player of the year), Dan Forsman (1981 co-player of the year), Billy Mayfair (1987), three-time NCAA champion Phil Mickelson (1990, 1991 and 1992), 1993 NCAA Champion Todd Demsey (1994), three-time Pac-10 champion Paul Casey (2000) and 2000 U.S. Amateur champion Jeff Quinney (2001 co-player of the year).

He has won three tournaments in 2004-2005, with victories at the Big/Ten Pac-10 Challenge at Bandon Dunes, Ore., on Oct. 25-26, the Arizona/Ping Intercollegiate Jan. 31-Feb. 1 in Tucson and the Puerto Rico Classic Feb. 27-March 1. He has a 71.64 stroke average in 13 events this year with five top-10 finishes.

He also earned first-team All-Pac-10 for the second straight year after earning second-team honors and co-Freshman of the Year in his rookie season of 2002-2003.

Alejandro Canizares Career StatisticsYear    App     Top 10  Rds.    Avg.    Low2004-05      13      5       39      71.64   652003-04 14      8       42      71.38   652002-03       8       3       26      71.65   68Career        35      16      107     71.54   65
Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder