Bruins Finish 2005 Season As The No. 15 Eight Crew In Nation

May 28, 2005

Rancho Cordova, CA - In their second day of the NCAA Rowing Championships in Rancho Cordova, the Bruins completed their 2005 season as the No. 15 eight crew in the nation. In the Division I Eight race for places 13-16, the UCLA Women's Rowing varsity eight squad finished in third place to capture the number 15 ranking. The Bruins overcame Syracuse, but fell to Michigan State and Wisconsin in the 2000 meter race.

UCLA started off in the race close behind Michigan State, coming in at 1:37.82 at the 500 meter mark, one second behind the Spartans time of 1:36.83. Wisconsin wasn't far behind, trailing the Bruins a bit over one second. UCLA continued to lead over Wisconsin and Syracuse at the half way mark, but could not surpass Michigan State. The Bruin's trailed the Spartans by a little more than a second, with the Badgers following UCLA by a little more than a second as well. This pattern continued until the 1500 meter mark was passed. IN the last 500 meters, Wisconsin inched ahead of the Bruins, completing their last 500 meters faster than any of the other schools at this point in a time of 1:39.56. This speed enabled Wisconsin to grab the second place finish by half a second, with UCLA assuming the third place finish. Michigan State earned the top time of the race, with a first place finish, and Syracuse came in fourth place. This was the last race of Eight competition for these four teams.

UCLA was entered into this competition when they did not finish in the top three spots in their first heat of the day on May 27, or in the Eight Repechage held later that day.

The Grand Final for the Division I Eight boat will occur tomorrow, May 29, at 12:00pm. California, Princeton, Harvard, Yale, Ohio State and Virginia will be competing for the National Title.

Division I Eights, Places 13-16

1. Michigan State 6:45.98
2. Wisconsin 6:46.21
3. UCLA 6:46.54
4. Syracuse 6:57.87

UCLA: Liz Pallas-Jacobs (stroke), Kristin Bixel, Monica Grova, Kelsey Hicks, Jessica Fritz, Erin Haggerty, Elizabeth Lee, Jessica Rogers, Emina Ong (cox).

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder