John Dunning Named All-Time Great Coach By USA Volleyball

May 30, 2005

Colorado Springs, Colo. - Stanford University women's volleyball head coach John Dunning and Penn State University women's volleyball head coach Russ Rose are this year's recipients of the USA Volleyball All-Time Great Coach Awards.

In receiving the 2005 Donald S. Shondell Contemporary Division Award, Dunning and Rose join the company of the best volleyball coaches in history, including previous Olympic coaches as well as many of their peers. The award is presented each year by USA Volleyball, the National Governing Body of the sport, to recognize the all-time great coaches of volleyball.

Dunning, who won his second NCAA Championship with Stanford last December (and fourth overall), will embark on his fifth year as Stanford's head coach later this year. He has a 120-20 record on 'The Farm' and boasts an overall mark of 557-122 in 20 years of coaching. In 2001, Dunning became the first Division I head coach to win a national championship in his first season at two different schools (Pacific and Stanford). He can also make another claim: he is one of only two coaches to have captured national titles on three different levels. Dunning has guided squads to national championships on the high school, club (Junior Olympic) and collegiate ranks.

He was tabbed AVCA National Coach of the Year in 2001 as well as Pacific-10 Conference Coach of the Year. He is 15-2 in postseason play as the Cardinal head coach. Dunning, who spent 16 seasons at Pacific before moving to Palo Alto, compiled an impressive 468-104 (.818) record during his tenure in Stockton, Calif. He led the Tigers to two NCAA Championships, a NCAA runner-up finish, five Big West Conference titles and 16 consecutive NCAA postseason tournament bids.

Both Dunning and Rose will be presented with their awards prior to a home match during their upcoming collegiate seasons.

USA Volleyball's All-Time Great Coaches List

Donald S. Shondell Contemporary Division

1995--Doug Beal, Al Scates

1996--Marilyn McReavy-Nolen, Don Shondell

1997--Linda Dollar

1998--No award presented

1999--Marv Dunphy, Arie Selinger

2000--Andy Banachowski, Carl McGown

2001--Elaine Michaelis

2002--Dave Shoji

2003--Brian Gimmillaro

2004--Mick Haley

2005--John Dunning, Russ Rose

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder