2005 Pac-10 Baseball Honors Announced

May 31, 2005


Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

ARIZONA junior outfielder Trevor Crowe and OREGON STATE junior outfielder Jacoby Ellsbury were named the 2005 Pacific-10 Conference Baseball Co-Players of the Year, while USC sophomore right-hander Ian Kennedy earned Pitcher of the Year honors and Oregon State freshman Darwin Barney was selected as the Freshman of the Year in a vote by the Conference baseball coaches. Oregon State skipper Pat Casey earned Coach of the Year honors after guiding the Beavers to their most wins ever, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced.

Crowe, from Portland, Ore., led the Pac-10 with a .421 batting average, a .745 slugging percentage, 104 hits, 81 runs scored, 25 doubles, 14 triples, 26 stolen bases and 184 total bases. Crowe also ranked among the Conference leaders in on base percentage (.495, 3rd), runs batted in (54, 7th), and home runs (9, 7th). His 14 triples on the season are the most in Pac-10 history, as are his 25 career triples. A two-time Pac-10 Player of the Week (Feb. 22 and May 10), Crowe is a semifinalist for the Brooks Wallace Award, and one of five finalists for the Golden Spikes Award.

Ellsbury, from Madras, Ore., tied for the Pac-10 lead with a perfect fielding percentage (1.000), never committing an error in 117 chances. He also excelled offensively, finishing second in the Conference in batting average (.415) and on base percentage (.504), while ranking among the Pac-10 leaders in hits (86, 3rd), steals (21, 3rd), slugging percentage (.604, 6th), doubles (17, t-7th) and total bases (125, 9th). His 86 hits on the season are the most in Oregon State history, and his 223 career hits are third most at OSU. A Pac-10 Player of the Week honoree on April 12, Ellsbury is a semifinalist for the Brooks Wallace Award.

Kennedy, from Huntington Beach, Calif., led the league by striking out 144 batters, including 67 looking, and tied for the league lead with 11 wins on the year. His 2.44 ERA was fourth-best Conference-wide, while batters hit just .199 against him, also fourth-best. Kennedy pitched 103 and one third innings on the year, eighth-most in the Conference. A two-time Pac-10 Pitcher of the Week (April 12 and May 3), Kennedy is a semifinalist for the 2005 Roger Clemens Award, the Xanthus-Dick Howser Trophy and the Brooks Wallace College Player of the Year Award.

Barney, from Beaverton, Ore., started 48 of the Beavers' 50 games this season, batting .304 in 194 at-bats. He hit eight doubles and two home runs while scoring 40 runs and driving in 40. He also walked 17 times. Barney recorded 16 multiple-hit games in 2005, while recording at least one hit in 36 games this season.

Casey earns his second Pac-10 Coach of the Year award after leading the Beavers to 41 wins, the most in Oregon State baseball history. Picked to finish sixth in the Pac-10 before the season, Casey led the Beavers to the Conference title with a 19-5 record in Pac-10 play. The 19 Conference wins match the most recorded by a Pac-10 school since the Northern and Southern Divisions merged in 1999. Under Casey's guidance the Beavers have returned to NCAA Regionals for the the first time since 1986, and will host postseason play for the first time since 1963 as the No. 8 national seed. In 11 years at Oregon State, Casey has a record of 336-234-4. His previous Pac-10 coaching honor came in 1997, when he was named the Pac-10 North Co-Coach of the Year.

Complete list of Conference honors:


Trevor Crowe, ARIZONA and Jacoby Ellsbury, OREGON STATE


Ian Kennedy, USC


Darwin Barney, OREGON STATE




Name, School, Pos, Yr, Ht, Wt, Hometown

Brennan Boesch, CAL, OF, So., 6-6, 210, Los Angeles, Calif.
Jordan Brown, ARIZ, 1B, Jr., 6-0, 210, Vacaville, Calif.
Travis Buck (2), ASU, OF, Jr., 6-2, 205, Richland, Wash.
Dallas Buck, OSU, RHP, So., 6-2, 190, Newberg, Ore.
Jeff Clement (3), USC, C, Jr., 6-1, 210, Marshalltown, Iowa
Brady Everett, WSU, C, Sr., 5-11, 206, Des Moines, Wash.
Jeff Gilmore, STAN, RHP, Jr., 6-2, 200, Huntington Beach, Calif.
Kevin Gunderson, OSU, RP, So., 5-10, 160, Portland, Ore.
Nick Hundley, ARIZ, C, Jr., 6-1, 205, Seattle, Wash.
Andy Jenkins, OSU, 1B, Sr., 6-0, 200, Salem, Ore.
Jeff Larish (2), ASU, 1B, Sr., 6-2, 210, Tempe, Ariz.
Brent Lillibridge (3), WASH, INF, Jr., 5-11, 185, Everett, Wash.
Tim Lincecum (2), WASH, RHP, So., 6-0, 160, Renton, Wash.
Jed Lowrie (2), STAN, INF, Jr., 6-0, 185, Salem, Ore.
John Mayberry Jr. (2), STAN, 1B, Jr., 6-5, 230, Kansas City, Mo.
Mark Melancon, ARIZ, RP, So., 6-2, 210, Golden, Colo.
Jonah Nickerson, OSU, RHP, So., 6-1, 190, Oregon City, Ore.
Josh Satin, CAL, INF, Fr., 6-2, 185, Calabasas, Calif.
Travis Talbott, CAL, RP, Sr., 5-11, 175, Santa Cruz, Calif.
Jeff Van Houten (2), ARIZ, OF, Sr., 5-10, 190, Paradise Valley, Ariz.

(2) - Two-time All-Conference selection.
(3) - Three-time All-Conference selection.

Honorable Mention
: Erik Averill, Jr., ASU; Eric Berger, Fr., ARIZ; Brett Bordes, Jr., ASU; Brad Boyer, Jr., ARIZ; Pat Bresnehan, So., ASU; Zach Clem, Jr., WASH; Josh Conover, Sr., WASH; Allen Craig, Jr., CAL; Colin Curtis, So., ASU; Matt Cusick, Fr., USC; Seth Dhaenens, So., ASU; Jason Donald, So., ARIZ; David Dowling, Sr., WASH; Eric Dworkis, Sr., CAL; Hector Estrella, So., USC; Nate Fogle, Jr., OSU; Chris Frey, Jr., ARIZ; Ryan Gipson, Jr., OSU; Tuffy Gosewisch, Sr., ASU; Tyler Graham, Jr., OSU; Kevin Guyette, Jr., ARIZ; Matt Hague, Fr., WASH; Cyle Hankerd, So., USC; Billy Hart, Jr., USC; John Hester, Jr., STAN; Chris Jensen, Jr., UCLA; Taylor Johnson, Sr., WASH; Bryan Kervin, Fr., ARIZ; Anton Maxwell, So., OSU; Shea McFeeley, Jr., OSU; Brandon McKerney, Fr., WASH; John Meloan, Jr., ARIZ; Jay Miller, Jr., WSU; Jeff Miller, So., WSU; Dane Renkert, Sr., WSU; Mark Romanczuk, Jr., STAN; Andrew Romine, Fr., ASU; J.J. Sferra, Fr., ASU; Blake Sharpe, Jr., USC; Adam Sorgi, So., STAN; Jack Spradlin, Jr., USC; Matt Swanson, Sr., CAL; Jason Urquidez, Sr., ASU.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder