Buck And Larish Earn First-Team All-Pac-10 Honors

May 31, 2005

TEMPE, Ariz. (www.TheSunDevils.com) -- Arizona State Baseball players Travis Buck and Jeff Larish were selected to the 2005 All-Pac-10 Team and nine other Sun Devils picked up honorable mention all-conference honors.

Junior starting pitcher Erik Averill (Orange, Calif.), sophomore relief pitcher Pat Bresnehan (Sherborn, Mass.), junior relief pitcher Brett Bordes (Mesa, Ariz.), sophomore outfielder Colin Curtis (Issaquah, Wash.), sophomore second baseman Seth Dhaenens (Chandler, Ariz.), senior catcher Tuffy Gosewisch (Scottsdale, Ariz.), freshman shortstop Andrew Romine (Lake Forest, Calif.), freshman center fielder J.J. Sferra (Phoenix, Ariz.) and senior starting pitcher Jason Urquidez (Simi Valley, Calif.) were all named All-Pac-10 honorable mention.

Buck (Richland, Wash.) earned first-team All-Pac-10 honors for the second straight year. Buck started all 56 games for the Sun Devils with 39 coming in the outfield and 17 at third base. He led the team and ranks third in the Pac-10 hitting .388 (94-for-242) with 22 doubles, three home runs, 38 RBI and 23 stolen bases.

Larish (Tempe, Ariz.) is an All-Pac-10 pick for the third time in his career and the second on first-team. He was also named first-team all-conference in 2003 after his record-breaking sophomore season. As a senior, Larish is hitting .308 (65-for-211) while leading the league with 17 home runs. He also has recorded 15 doubles, 56 RBI and is one of six Sun Devils with 10 or more stolen bases. The senior slugger also ranked tied for third with Barry Bonds in the ASU career record books with 45 home runs.

Several individual awards were also passed out at the teams annual awards banquet held Tuesday night in the lobby of the Carson Student-Athlete Center. Senior catcher Tuffy Gosewisch was a near unanimous choice for the On Deck Circle MVP Award. Several players also shared awards, including Jason Urquidez and Erik Averill for Pitcher of the Year, Travis Buck and Jeff Larish for Offensive MVP and Gosewisch and Larish for Defensive MVP. Buck also was the recipient of The Tillman, named in honor of former Sun Devil football player Pat Tillman.

On Deck Circle MVP: Tuffy GosewischPitcher of the Year: Jason Urquidez/Erik AverillOffensive MVP: Travis Buck/Jeff LarishDefensive MVP: Tuffy Gosewisch/Jeff LarishDevelopmental MVP: Rocky LagunaNewcomer of the Year: Joey Hooft/Andrew Romine/J.J. SferraMr. Fireman Award: Brett Bordes/Pat BresnehanJim Henderson Courage Award: Colin CurtisJim Brock/Mr. Sun Devil Award: Seth DhaenensBobby Winkles Award: Colin CurtisThe Tillman: Travis Buck

Complete list of the 2005 All-Pac-10 Awards:

Trevor Crowe, ARIZONA and Jacoby Ellsbury, OREGON STATE

Ian Kennedy, USC

Darwin Barney, OREGON STATE


2005 ALL-PAC-10 TEAM

Name                   School              Pos     Yr.Brennan Boesch         California          OF      So.Jordan Brown           Arizona             1B      Jr.Travis Buck (2)        Arizona State       OF      Jr.Dallas Buck            Oregon State        RHP     So.Jeff Clement (3)       USC                 C       Jr.Brady Everett          Washington State    C       Sr.Jeff Gilmore           Stanford            RHP     Jr.Kevin Gunderson        Oregon State        RP      So.Nick Hundley           Arizona             C       Jr.Andy Jenkins           Oregon State        1B      Sr.Jeff Larish (2)        Arizona State       1B      Sr.Brent Lillibridge (3)  Washington          INF     Jr.Tim Lincecum (2)       Washington          RHP     So.Jed Lowrie (2)         Stanford            INF     Jr.John Mayberry Jr. (2)  Stanford            1B      Jr.Mark Melancon          Arizona             RP      So.Jonah Nickerson        Oregon State        RHP     So.Josh Satin             California          INF     Fr.Travis Talbott         California          RP      Sr.Jeff Van Houten (2)    Arizona             OF      Sr.

(2) - Two-time All-Conference selection.
(3) - Three-time All-Conference selection.

Honorable Mention: Erik Averill, Jr., ASU; Eric Berger, Fr., ARIZ; Brett Bordes, Jr.; Brad Boyer, Jr., ARIZ; Pat Bresnehan, So., ASU; Zach Clem, Jr., WASH; Josh Conover, Sr., WASH; Allen Craig, Jr., CAL; Colin Curtis, So., ASU; Matt Cusick, Fr., USC; Seth Dhaenens, So., ASU; Jason Donald, So., ARIZ; David Dowling, Sr., WASH; Eric Dworkis, Sr., CAL; Hector Estrella, So., USC; Nate Fogle, RP), OSU; Chris Frey, Jr., ARIZ; Ryan Gipson, OSU; Tuffy Gosewisch, Sr., ASU; Tyler Graham, Jr., OSU; Kevin Guyette, Jr., ARIZ; Matt Hague, Fr., WASH; Cyle Hankerd, So., USC; Billy Hart, Jr., USC; John Hester, Jr., STAN; Chris Jensen, Jr., UCLA; Taylor Johnson, Sr., WASH; Bryan Kervin, Fr., ARIZ; Anton Maxwell, OSU; Shea McFeeley, OSU; Brandon McKerney, Fr., WASH; John Meloan, Jr., ARIZ; Jay Miller, Jr., WSU; Jeff Miller, So., WSU; Dane Renkert, Sr., WSU; Mark Romanczuk, Jr., STAN; Andrew Romine, Fr., ASU; J.J. Sferra, Fr., ASU; Blake Sharpe, Jr., USC; Adam Sorgi, So., STAN; Jack Spradlin, Jr., USC; Matt Swanson, Sr., CAL; Jason Urquidez, Sr., ASU.

--Sun Devil Baseball--
Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder