Brianne McGowan Named First Team All-American

June 2, 2005

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. - Oregon State sophomore pitcher Brianne McGowan earned first team All-America honors on Thursday afternoon, as was announced by Louisville Slugger and the National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) in conjunction with the opening day of action at the Women's College World Series.

McGowan is just the second player in Oregon State softball history to garner first team All-America honors and is only the fourth player (four-time All-American Tarrah Beyster, third team selection Brynnen Guthrie, second team honoree Vanessa Iapala) to garner All-America status since the Beavers joined the Pacific-10 Conference in 1987.

Two weeks ago, McGowan, from Reno, Nev., became Oregon State's first ever Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year award recipient and became only the third player in school history to garner first team all-conference honors. The 6-2 hurler helped lead the Beavers to their first ever share of the Pac-10 title and an automatic berth into the 2005 NCAA Tournament.

McGowan amassed a tournament leading 53 strikeouts in 31.2 innings of work at the NCAA Regional in Madison, WI, before OSU dropped its championship outing with WCWS participant DePaul University.

On the year, McGowan broke six different Oregon State single season pitching records - Victories (36), Strikeouts (346), Complete Game Shutouts (12), Complete Games (34), Appearances (54), and Innings Pitched (299.2).

McGowan pitched the Beavers to victory against 14 Top 25 teams on the season and her 36 victories currently rank third in the country.

Oregon State's Female Athlete of the Year, McGowan, was named Pac-10 Pitcher of the Week four times and USA Softball National Player of the Week once.

Louisville Slugger/NFCA Division I All-Americans
First Team

Pos.	 Name	           SchoolP	Monica Abbott	TennesseeP	Cat Osterman	TexasP	Jennie Ritter	MichiganC	Kristen Rivera	Washington1B	Garland Cooper	Northwestern2B	Tiffany Haas	Michigan3B	Vicky Galindo	CaliforniaSS	Courtney Bures	Mississippi StateOF	Sarah Fekete	TennesseeOF	Caitlin Lowe	ArizonaOF	Marissa Nichols	UNLVDP	Cameron Astiazaran	Illinois-ChicagoUT	Amanda Scarborough	Texas A&MAL	Kristie Fox	ArizonaAL	Brianne McGowan	Oregon StateAL	Heather Scaglione	OklahomaAL	Jamie Southern	Fresno StateAL	Kim Wendland	Georgia
Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder