Stanford's Magee And Fiesler Named To All-American Team By CRCA

June 3, 2005

The Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) announced its All-America teams for the 2005 season on Thursday. The awards, presented by Pocock, recognize the outstanding accomplishments of female rowers and coxswains for the spring season. Forty-five student-athletes were honored, including 20 first-team selections. Missy Fiesler garnered second-team honors while Sam Magee earned first-team honors.

For graduating senior Missy Fiesler this latest honor adds to a growing list of accomplishments earned during her four years on the Farm. Fiesler was named to the All-West Region teams 2003, 2004, and 2005. In addition, Fiesler was named to two All-Pac-10 teams. This is Fiesler's second time named to the CRCA All-American team.

Senior Sam Magee has been selected as a first-team all-American for the second time during her collegiate career. Magee has been named to two All-West-Region teams, and two All-Pac-10 teams. Magee spent the 2004 season training for the Athens Olympics where her team won a silver medal.

Twelve schools had multiple selections, led by California-Berkeley with four. Virginia, Ohio State, Princeton, and Yale each had three. Thirty-three of the 45 student-athletes were participants at the NCAA Championships last weekend, including all 20 first-team selections. The national champion Golden Bears produced four first-team selections, more than any other school.

The New England Region produced the most All-America selections with 13, including five first-team honorees. The West Region produced the most first-team selections with seven. The Central Region produced 10 All-Americans, including five on the first team. The South Region had seven All-America choices, while the Mid-Atlantic Region had four.

2005 Pocock First-Team All-America Selections

Diana Albrecht The Ohio State University
Meg Anderson Brown University
Kristin Bixel UCLA
Caryn Davies Harvard-Radcliffe
Jelena Djukic University of California, Berkeley
Janelle Dubbins Washington
Anna Goodale Syracuse
Rachael Jeffers Yale
Leah Ketcheson University of Michigan
Nikki Lennart University of Wisconsin
Caroline Lind Princeton University
Sam Magee Stanford
Margaret Matia University of Virginia
Carolyn McMillan University of Virginia
Iva Obradovic University of California, Berkeley
Amanda Purcell The Ohio State University
Erin Robertson Michigan State University
Maria Stevens Yale University
Kaylan Vander Schilden University of California, Berkeley
Remy Hitomi (coxswain) University of California, Berkeley

2005 Pocock Second-Team All-America Selections

Andrea Bagwell University of Tennessee
Miriam Barsalou Northeastern University
Ashlee Brown Clemson University
Amelia Buhts Louisville
Tara Coleman Columbia
Kate Davison Dartmouth College
Mollie Durkin Harvard-Radcliffe
Annabell Fago The Ohio State University
Missy Fiesler Stanford University
Shannon Gedman University of Wisconsin
Vanessa Glendenning Loyola Marymount
Lea Jakobsen UMass
Laura Lazaridis Indiana
Maureen Lynch Colgate
Kelly McGrorey Syracuse
Brittany McMahon San Diego State
Claire Norsetter Yale University
Chelsea Pemberton University of Tennessee
Amanda Polk University of Notre Dame
Brett Sickler University of Michigan
Catherine Starr Brown University
Jody Thomas Washington State University
Katrina Wechselberger Princeton University
Jacqueline Zider Princeton University
Launa Forehand (coxswain) University of Virginia
Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder