Men's Golf Finishes Tied For 11th At NCAA Championships

June 4, 2005

Tenth-ranked ASU finished tied for 11th at the 108th annual NCAA Men's Golf Championships held at the Caves Valley Golf Club in Owings Mills, Md. The Sun Devils (291-285-301-293) tied with Tennessee at 50-over 1,170, while both Alejandro Canizares (73-71-72-71) and Niklas Lemke (70-70-76-71) tied for 19th at 7-over 287 after Saturday's final round.

Georgia earned the title with a 15-over 1,135 (274-284-297-280) while Georgia Tech finished second at 26-over 1,146 (288-281-295-282). James Lepp of Washington (70-67-76-63) won the individidual title on the third playoff hole after shooting a 7-under 63 in the final round to match Michael Putnam of Pepperdine (67-67-73-69) as each shot 4-under 276.

Lepp joined four Sun Devil NCAA medalists (on six occasions) as Pac-10 players who earned the NCAA title, as Sun Devils Jim Carter (1983), Phil Mickelson (1989, 1990, 1992), Todd Demsey (1993) and Alejandro Canizares (2003) all took home the trophy along with Frank Tatum Jr. of Stanford (1942), Scott Simpson of USC (1976 and 1977), Ron Commans of USC (1981) and Tiger Woods of Stanford (1996).

Canizares, a junior who won the 2003 NCAA championship and is the 2005 Pac-10 Player of the Year, finished the season with a 71.65 stroke average in 14 tournaments, which is tied for the 10th-best scoring average in ASU history.

Lemke finished his sophomore season with a 73.50 stroke average in 13 events.

Junior Charly Simon finished at 18-over 298 (73-73-77-75) and ended the year with a 73.54 stroke average in nine events.

Senior Pat Moore, who entered the tournament with four straight top-10 finishes, finished tied for 70th at 23-over 303 (75-73-76-79). Moore won the U.S. Intercollegiate held at Stanford Golf Course April 16-17 with a 2-under 208 (71-70-67) and had finished in the top-10 in the previous four tournaments heading into the NCAA Championships. He also finished sixth at the ASU Thunderbird Invitational April 8-9 with a 1-over 214 (68-74-72), was third at the Pac-10 Championships April 25-27 in Walla Walla, Wash., with a 5-under 279 (67-67-69-76) and was fifth at the NCAA West Regionals May 19-21 at Stanford with a 1-under 209 (69-69-71). He finished the season with a 72.15 stroke average.

Senior Jesse Mueller, the 2001 Arizona Amateur champion, finished at 25-over 305 (78-71-80-76) and tied for 76th. Mueller finished his season with a 72.78 stroke average.

Complete final statistics are available at


*ASU (1996) and Cal (2004) are the only Pac-10 teams to win the NCAA championship in the past 11 years. Other Pac-10 teams to win the NCAA Men's Golf Championship are: Stanford (1938, 1939, 1941, 1942, 1946, 1953 and 1994), UCLA (1988) and Arizona (1992).

*ASU has finished first (1996), fourth (1995), fifth (1998 and 1999), tied for fifth (1997), sixth (1993, 2001 and 2003), tied for ninth (1994), tied for 11th (2005), tied for 21st (2004) and tied for 25th (2001) under Randy Lein in the NCAA Championship.

*Six Pac-10 schools qualified for the event (Arizona, ASU, Stanford, UCLA, USC and Washington), as defending NCAA champion California did not qualify for the 30-team field. Arizona, Stanford and UCLA did not make the 15-team cut for the final round.

Top Three Teams And ASUNCAA Men's Golf ChampionshipsCaves Valley Golf Club/Par 70/7,131 yardsFull results available at

1. Georgia 274-284-297-280=1,135, +15

2. Georgia Tech 288-281-295-282=1,146, +26

3. Washington 289-285-303-276=1,153, +33

T11. Arizona State 291-285-301-293=1,170, +50

Medalist/ASU players

T1. James Lepp, Washington 70-67-76-63=276, -4

T1. Michael Putnam, Pepperdine 67-67-73-69=276, -4

T19. Alejandro Canizares, ASU 73-71-72-71=287, +7

T19. Niklas Lemke, ASU 70-70-76-71=287, +7

T54. Charly Simon, ASU 73-73-77-75=298, +18

T70. Pat Moore, ASU 75-73-76-79=303, +23

T73. Jesse Mueller, ASU 78-71-80-76=305, +25