Bears Sweep Pac-10 Rowing Awards

June 6, 2005

BERKELEY - California swept the Pac-10 Rowing Coach of the Year honors, with Steve Gladstone winning the men's award and Dave O'Neill claiming the women's honor, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Cal sophomore Eric Hand was named Pac-10 Men's Rowing Newcomer of the Year, while Golden Bear freshman Mara Allen was named the Women's Newcomer of the Year.

Allen led the Cal women's team to its second consecutive Pac-10 team title. The Bears won two out of four races on the day to take the team title. Cal won the varsity eight and the second varsity eight. The Bears later captured the NCAA team title to win its first-ever NCAA rowing championship.

Hand led the Cal men's to its 12th Pac-10 title and seventh in eight years. In the varsity eight race, the Bears finished ahead of fourth-ranked Washington, Stanford, Oregon Stater, UC Davis and UCLA. The victory left the varsity eight undefeated heading into the Intercollegiate Rowing Championship, where the Bears placed third last weekend.

The coach of the year honor is the second straight for O'Neill and his third overall. It marks Gladstone's seventh coach of the year honor.

The 2005 All-Pac-10 Rowing teams are listed below:

David Banks, STAN
Danny Brevick, WSU
Jake Cornelius, STAN
Dan ielCasaca, CAL
Chris Dekker, UCLA
Troy Kepper, CAL
Giuseppe Lanzone, WASH
Brett Newlin, WASH
Dusan Nikolic, WASH
Rory Tuttle, CAL
Vaclav Vochoska, CAL
Adam Wing, OSU

Susan Be Ville, STAN
Kristin Bixel, UCLA
Janelle Dubbins, WASH
Sarah Dubrasich, OSU
Jelena Djukic, CAL
Missy Fiesler, STAN
Sam Magee, STAN
Simone Manhold, USC
Iva Obradovic, CAL
Jody Thomas, WSU
Kaylan Vander Schilden, CAL
Laura Terheyden, CAL
Barbora Varekova, USC

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder