CAL's Steve Gladstone and Dave O'Neill Named Rowing Coaches of the Year

June 6, 2005

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader


Eric Hand, Mara Allen Named Newcomers of the Year

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- CALIFORNIA'S Steve Gladstone was named Pacific-10 Conference Men's Rowing Coach of the Year while California's Dave O'Neill was named Pac-10 Women's Rowing Coach of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

California sophomore Eric Hand was named Pac-10 Men's Rowing Newcomer of the Year, and California freshman Mara Allen was named the Women's Newcomer of the Year.

Allen led the California women's team to its second consecutive Pac-10 team title. The Golden Bears won two out of four races on the day to take the team title. The Cal women won the varsity eight and the second varsity eight. With their wins, the varsity eight and the second varsity eight remained undefeated for the year, heading into the NCAA championships on May 27-29 at CSUS Aquatic Center in Sacramento, Calif. California captured the team title to win its first-ever NCAA rowing championship.

Hand led the California men's team to their 12th Pac-10 title and seventh in eight years. In the varsity eight race, the Bears finished ahead of fourth-ranked Washington, STANFORD, OREGON STATE, UC Davis and UCLA. The victory left the varsity eight undefeated heading into the Intercollegiate Rowing Championship. Cal's varsity eight placed third in the grand final of the IRA Regatta, June 4 in Cherry Hill, N.J.

The coach of the year honor is the second straight for O'Neill and his third overall. It marks Gladstone's seventh coach of the year honor.

The 2005 All-Pac-10 Rowing teams are listed below:

David Banks, STAN
Danny Brevick, WSU
Jake Cornelius, STAN
Dan ielCasaca, CAL
Chris Dekker, UCLA
Troy Kepper, CAL
Giuseppe Lanzone, WASH
Brett Newlin, WASH
Dusan Nikolic, WASH
Rory Tuttle, CAL
Vaclav Vochoska, CAL
Adam Wing, OSU

Susan Be Ville, STAN
Kristin Bixel, UCLA
Janelle Dubbins, WASH
Sarah Dubrasich, OSU
Jelena Djukic, CAL
Missy Fiesler, STAN
Sam Magee, STAN
Simone Manhold, USC
Iva Obradovic, CAL
Jody Thomas, WSU
Kaylan Vander Schilden, CAL
Laura Terheyden, CAL
Barbora Varekova, USC

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
  • Football: Pac-12 Football Media Days Special (Day 1)
    Wed 7/26 | 9:30am PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Oregon
    • Pac-12 Bay Area
    • Pac-12 Washington
    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Los Angeles
    • Pac-12 Mountain
    • Pac-12 Arizona
  • Football: Pac-12 Football Media Days Special (Day 2)
    Thu 7/27 | 9:30am PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Washington
    • Pac-12 Oregon
    • Pac-12 Mountain
    • Pac-12 Arizona
    • Pac-12 Bay Area
    • Pac-12 Los Angeles
Get Pac-12 Networks
Unable to get Pac-12 Network?
Contact your provider ▶
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder