Collegiate Women's Sports Awards Announces Top Track & Field Athlete Of 2005 Program

June 13, 2005

Track & Field star and Olympic Gold Medalist, Monique Henderson, a senior at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), has been voted the nation's top collegiate female track & field athlete. The honor was based on the results of national balloting among 1,000 NCAA member schools as part of the Collegiate Women Sports Awards program, now in its 29th year.

Henderson's victory will earn her the Honda Award, given annually to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports as well as an automatic nomination for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year. She was voted over three other nominees: sophomore Marshevet Hooker from the University of Texas, sophomore Tianna Madison from the University of Tennessee, and junior Virginia Powell from the University of Southern California.

The nominees in track & field were selected by the National Association of Collegiate Track & Field Coaches.

A native of San Diego, CA (Morse HS), Henderson was a member of the 2004 Summer U. S. Olympic team, winning a gold medal in the 4x400m relay. This past weekend she won the 400m at the 2005 NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships in Sacramento, CA. Henderson's personal-best winning time of 50.10 was the fifth-fastest all-time collegiate 400m mark, while also setting new NCAA meet, PAC-10 and UCLA records. At the 2005 NCAA West Regional meet in Eugene, OR, she became the first woman in meet history to repeat as 200m/400m champion, and at the 2005 Pac-10 Championships at UCLA, just the second woman in conference meet history to repeat victories in both the 200m/400m. Henderson is also ranked fifth best in the world and has been named the West Region's Athlete of the Year. In her career, she is an eight-time All-American, seven-time Pac-10 Champion and six-time West Region Champion.

UCLA is the only school in 2004-05 to have two Honda Award sport winners - joining Henderson is Bruin senior Kristen Maloney, the Honda Award winner for gymnastics, an All-American who won the 2005 NCAA vault and beam championships. The other Honda Award sport winners are - LSU's Seimone Augustus for basketball; Auburn's Kirsty Coventry for swimming; Wake Forest's Kelly Dostal for field hockey; Duke's Anna Grzebien for Golf; Northwestern's Kristen Kjellman for Lacrosse; Stanford's Ogonna Nnamani for volleyball; Santa Clara's Leslie Osborne for soccer; Texas' Cat Osterman for softball; Providence's Kim Smith for cross-country and Baylor's Zuzana Zemenova for tennis. The Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year will be determined by separate balloting involving all NCAA-member institutions and the winner will receive the Honda-Broderick Cup in New York on June 29, 2005.

Henderson is the third UCLA woman's athlete to win the Honda Award for track & field, joining Bruin greats Evelyn Ashford, who won the first award in 1976-77 and Jackie Joyner-Kersee, who took the honor in 1982-83 and 1984-85.

UCLA has had four athletes win the prestigious Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year (Honda-Broderick Cup) - Ann Meyers-Drysdale in 1977-78 (basketball), Joyner-Kersee in 1984-85, Lisa Fernandez in 1992-93 (softball) and Natasha Watley in 2002-03 (softball).

American Honda Motor Co., Inc. sponsors the Collegiate Women Sports Awards Program. In honor of Henderson winning the Honda Sports Award, American Honda Motor Co. will donate $5,000 to the UCLA women's athletic program.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder