2005 USA Softball Women's National Teams Announced

June 20, 2005

Oklahoma City, Okla. - The Amateur Softball Association, the National Governing Body of Softball in the United States and USA Softball announced today the selection of the 2005 Women's National and Elite Teams. The National Team, which consists of an 18-member roster, takes the field July 12 in Irvine, Calif. for an exhibition game against Australia before heading to the first ever World Cup of Softball in Oklahoma City, July 14-18. On July 26, the team will travel to Yokohama, Japan as they look to defend the Japan Cup title.

11 of the 15 Olympians from Athens return to represent the U.S. this summer on the National Team. Two-time Olympic gold medalists Crystl Bustos is taking a one year leave from Team USA to play full-time in the National Pro Fastpitch League with the Akron Racers. Lisa Fernandez also announced she will take the year off because she and her husband Michael are expecting their first child in December. Three-time gold medalists Lori Harrigan and Leah O'Brien-Amico announced their retirement from the National Team following their win in Athens.

The 16-member Elite Team will represent the Red, White and Blue beginning July 2 at the Canada Cup in Surrey, B.C. and the Inter-Continental Cup in Madrid, Spain, July 20-28.

For updated stats, results, and photos from the summer events please visit www.usasoftball.com.

The following is the 2005 Women's National Team Roster:Monica Abbott (Salinas, Calif./ Tennessee*)Laura Berg (Santa Fe Springs, Calif./ Fresno State)Jaime Clark (Tustin, Calif./ Washington)Jennie Finch (La Mirada, Calif./ Arizona)Tairia Flowers (Tucson, Ariz./ UCLA)Amanda Freed (Cypress, Calif./ UCLA)Vicky Galindo (Union City, Calif./ California-Berkeley)Alicia Hollowell (Suisun, Calif./ Arizona*)Lovie Jung (Fountain Valley, Calif./ Arizona)Kelly Kretschman (Indian Harbour Beach, Fla./ Alabama)Caitlin Lowe (Tustin, Calif./ Arizona*)Jessica Mendoza (Camarillo, Calif./ Stanford)Stacey Nuveman (La Verne, Calif./ UCLA)Cat Osterman (Houston, Texas/ Texas*)Jamie Southern (Clovis, Calif./ Fresno State)Jenny Topping (Whittier, Calif./ Cal State Fullerton)Natasha Watley (Irvine, Calif./ UCLA)Kellie Wilkerson (Jacksonville, Fla./ Mississippi State)

The following is the 2005 Women's Elite Team Roster:Kaleo Eldredge (Kahului, Hawaii/ California-Berkeley)Leigh Ann Ellis (Barboursville, West Virginia/ Uni. of South Florida)Samantha Findlay (Lockport, Ill./ Michigan*)Jocelyn Forest (Santa Maria, Calif./ California-Berkeley)Nicole Giordano (Saugus, Calif./ Arizona)Tiffany Haas (Santa Ana, Calif./ Michigan*)Lauren Lappin (Anaheim, Calif./ Stanford*)Jessica Merchant (Wayland, Mich./ Michigan)Catalina Morris (Sonoita, Ariz./ Stanford*)Marissa Nichols (Alta Loma, Calif./ UNLV*)Gina Oaks (Alta Loma, Calif./ Cal State Fullerton)Jennie Ritter (Dexter, Mich./ Michigan*)Heather Scaglione (San Diego, Calif./ Oklahoma)Lindsay Schutzler (Monterey, Calif./ Tennessee*)Dana Sorensen (San Diego, Calif./ Stanford)Mackenzie Vandergeest (Thousand Oaks, Calif./ Arizona)

*Indicates still in college

The Amateur Softball Association, founded in 1933, is the National Governing Body of Softball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic Committee.

As the National Governing Body, the ASA is responsible for identifying, selecting and training male and female athletes to compete in World, Pan American and Olympic competitions. In addition to those duties, the ASA conducts the only recognized National Championship competitions in the United States.

About ASAThe Amateur Softball Association, founded in 1933, is the National Governing Body of softball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic Committee. The ASA has become one of the nation's largest sports organizations and now sanctions competition in every state through a network of 88 local associations. The ASA has grown from a few hundred teams in the early days to over 240,000 teams today, representing a membership of more than three million. For more information on the ASA, visit www.asasoftball.com.

About USASoftball USA Softball is the brand created, operated and owned by the ASA that links the USA Men's, Women's, Junior Boys' and Junior Girls' National Team programs together. USA Softball is responsible for training, equipping and promoting these four National Teams to compete in international and domestic competitions. The USA Softball Women's National Team is one of the only two women's sports involved in the Olympic movement to capture three consecutive gold medals at the Olympic Games since 1996. The U.S. women have also won seven World Championship titles including the last five consecutive. For more information about USA Softball, please visit www.usasoftball.com.

courtesy of USA Softball

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder