Five Finalists, Including UCLA's Monique Henderson, Named For 2005 Collegiate Woman Athlete Of The Year

June 21, 2005

New York, NY -- The Collegiate Women's Sports Awards today announced the five finalists for its annual top honor, the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year. The finalists were chosen by a vote of more than 1,000 NCAA-member institutions and the winner will be named at a special press conference on June 29th in New York. The winner will receive the prestigious 2005 Honda-Broderick Cup.

This year's five finalists for the Honda-Broderick Cup are, in alphabetical order: Seimone Augustus of Louisiana State University (basketball); Kirsty Coventry of Auburn University (swimming); Monique Henderson of UCLA (track & field); Ogonna Nnamani of Stanford University (volleyball); and Cat Osterman of the University of Texas (softball).

The five finalists for the Honda-Broderick Cup were chosen from previously announced Honda Award winners in 12 different NCAA-sanctioned sports. The sports and their nominees are basketball, Seimone Augustus, Louisiana State University; cross country, Kim Smith, Providence; field hockey, Kelly Dostal, Wake Forest; golf, Anna Grzebien, Duke University; gymnastics, Kristen Maloney, UCLA; lacrosse, Kristen Kjellman, Northwestern University; soccer, Leslie Osborne, Santa Clara University; softball, Cat Osterman, University of Texas; swimming, Kirsty Coventry, Auburn University; tennis, Zuzana Zemenova, Baylor University; track & field, Monique Henderson, UCLA ; volleyball, Ogonna Nnamani, Stanford University.

Career Highlights of the Final Five:
Seimone Augustus - Augustus has started every game in her career, ending the 2004/2005 regular season as the second highest scorer in the SEC and first in free-throw percentage. She was named SEC Player of the Year by the coaches and the Associated Press for the 2004/2005 season. She has also been named one of the 15 finalists for the US Women's World University Team.

Kirsty Coventry - Coventry won the 200-yard backstroke in 1:50.54 with the second fastest time in NCAA history and also won the 200-yard and 400-yard individual medleys (IM). Coventry also led off the 800-yard free relay in a school record time of 1:44.48 and finished her college career with seven NCAA titles.

Monique Henderson - Henderson was a gold medal winner on the U. S. 4x400m relay at the 2004 Athens Summer Olympics. She recently won the 400-meter at the NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships with her personal best time (50.10) - an in- season collegiate record, fifth-fastest all-time collegiate, NCAA meet record and PAC-10/UCLA records.

UCLA is the only school in 2004-05 to have two Honda Award sport winners - joining Henderson is Bruin senior Kristen Maloney, the Honda Award winner for gymnastics, an All-American who won the 2005 NCAA vault and beam championships.

Henderson is the third UCLA woman's athlete to win the Honda Award for track & field, joining Bruin greats Evelyn Ashford, who won the first award in 1976-77 and Jackie Joyner-Kersee, who took the honor in 1982-83 and 1984-85.

UCLA has had four athletes win the prestigious Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year (Honda-Broderick Cup) - Ann Meyers-Drysdale in 1977-78 (basketball), Jackie Joyner-Kersee in 1984-85, Lisa Fernandez in 1992-93 (softball) and Natasha Watley in 2002-03 (softball).

Ogonna Nnamani - Nnamani is an outside hitter who led her team to an NCAA championship this year and was voted the most outstanding player of the Final Four tournament after setting an NCAA record with 62 kills in the semifinal and final matches. Her 823 kills for this year's season set both conference and school records and ranks seventh in all-time NCAA competition.

Cat Osterman - Pitcher Cat Osterman was a member of the 2004 U.S. Olympic Softball Team, which won the gold medal in Athens. While at the University of Texas, she has broken virtually every school pitching record, as well as several Big 12 Conference and NCAA records. Osterman pitched 15-career no-hitters.

In addition to the annual Honda-Broderick Cup, the Collegiate Women's Sports Awards Program also presents its annual 'Honda Inspiration Award' to a deserving collegiate female athlete. This year's recipient, Brittney Kroon, survived a liver transplant and returned as starting center of the Seattle Pacific University women's basketball team. The program also honors 'Athletes of the Year' from both NCAA Div. II and Div. III colleges. They are Div. II, Krystal Lewallen, softball, Northern Kentucky University and Div. III Missy Buttry, cross country, Wartburg College.

Last year's Honda-Broderick Cup winner, Tara Kirk (swimming) of Stanford University went on to compete and win a bronze medal in the 2004 Summer Olympics. Other past winners of the Honda-Broderick Cup include some of the most talented and accomplished collegiate athletes in recent history: UCLA's Jackie Joyner-Kersee (track & field, 1984); North Carolina's Mia Hamm (soccer, 1994), USC's Cheryl Miller (basketball, 1983), UCLA's Ann Meyers-Drysdale (1978, basketball), Florida's Tracy Caulkins (1982, 1984, swimming & diving), Tennessee's Chamique Holdsclaw (basketball, 1998) and UCLA's Lisa Fernandez (softball, 1993). In 2001, Jackie Joyner-Kersee was honored as the 'Top Collegiate Woman Athlete for the Past 25 Years.'

American Honda Motor Co., Inc. sponsors the Collegiate Women Sports Awards Program.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder