Dan Grunfeld and Chris Hernandez Named To Wooden Award Preseason List

Aug. 9, 2005

Los Angeles, Calif. - Stanford senior guard Chris Hernandez and senior guard/forward Dan Grunfeld are among the top 50 preseason candidates for the 2005-06 John R. Wooden All-American Team, the Wooden Award committee announced this week. Stanford is one of seven teams to have a pair of preseason candidates, joining Boston College, Connecticut, Duke, Michigan State, Texas and Wake Forest.

The top 50 candidates were selected based on last year¹s individual performance and team records. The student-athletes selected are all returning players, as transfers and first-time players were not included.

Grunfeld led the team in scoring last season (17.9 ppg) and was a first-team All-Pac-10 selection. He missed the last nine games of the season when he tore his ACL against California (2/12/05). He was an All-District-14 pick and was named to the 2005 ESPN The Magazine Academic All-American second team.

Hernandez was a first-team All-Pac-10 selection in 2004-05 and a finalist for the Bob Cousy Award, symbolic of the nation's best point guard. HE was an All-District 14 pick along with Grunfeld as well. He led the team in minutes played (34.8 mpg) and was the team leader in three-pointers made (65).

Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. The 2006 Award ceremony will be held at the Los Angeles Athletic Club on April 8, 2006 and will be broadcast live on a national CBS telecast.

Wooden Award Preseason Top 50 List (alphabetical order):Hassan Adams, Arizona; Maurice Ager, Michigan State; Josh Boone, Connecticut; Brandon Bowman, Georgetown; Ronnie Brewer, Arkansas; Aaron Brooks, Oregon; Dee Brown, Illinois; Nick Caner-Medley, Maryland; Rodney Carney, Memphis; Mardy Collins, Temple; JamesOn Curry, Oklahoma State; Chuck Davis, Alabama; Glen Davis, LSU; Paul Davis, Michigan State; Taquan Dean, Louisville; Guillermo Diaz, Miami; Jared Dudley, Boston College; Jordan Farmar, UCLA; Nick Fazekas, Nevada; Daniel Gibson, Texas; Rudy Gay, Connecticut; Justin Gray, Wake Forest; Taj Gray, Oklahoma; Vincent Grier, Minnesota; Dan Grunfeld, Stanford; Chris Hernandez, Stanford; Jeff Horner, Iowa; Jarrius Jackson, Texas Tech; Ben Jacobson, Northern Iowa; Carl Krauser, Pittsburgh; Pops Mensah-Bonsu, George Washington; Paul Millsap, Louisiana Tech; Gerry McNamara, Syracuse; Adam Morrison, Gonzaga; Steve Novak, Marquette; Kevin Pittsnogle, West Virginia; Leon Powe, California; J.J. Redick, Duke; Rajon Rondo, Kentucky; Brandon Roy, Washington; Craig Smith, Boston College; Steven Smith, LaSalle; Curtis Stinson, Iowa State; Curtis Sumpter, Villanova; Alando Tucker, Wisconsin; P.J. Tucker, Texas; Darius Washington, Memphis; Eric Williams, Wake Forest; Sheldon Williams, Duke; Curtis Withers, Charlotte.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder