Medlock Named to Groza Award Watch List

Aug. 12, 2005

UCLA's Justin Medlock and one of last year's three finalists highlight the 2005 Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award Preseason Watch List.

The 2005 winner of the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award is announced on Thursday, December 8, 2005 during the ESPN Home Depot College Football Award Show in Orlando, Florida. The top three finalists for the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award are honored during the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award Banquet and Silent Auction on Tuesday, December 6, 2005, at the Palm Beach Gardens Marriott.

The Preseason Watch List is comprised of the top 30 preliminary candidates for the 14th annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, presented by the FedEx Orange Bowl.

Medlock, a junior, already ranks seventh (tied) on UCLA's career field goal list with 29 and his career percentage of .744 is third among Bruins with at least 21 field goals. In 2004, he led the Bruins with 87 points, making 15 of 20 field goals and 42 or 43 PATs. He ranked second in the Pac-10 in field goal percentage (.750) and kick scoring (7.25 per game).

Medlock is one of three Pac-10 kickers on the Watch List.

A brief biography of each player on the Lou Groza Award Preseason Watch List can be found at beginning August 31, 2005.

Kickers on the Lou Groza Award Preseason Watch List were chosen based on statistics from the 2004 season and 2005 preseason expectations. However, all Division I-A kickers are eligible for consideration for the award.

A panel of over 300 experts vote on the award, including Division I-A head coaches, sports writers and sportscasters, conference representatives, professional kickers and all previous Groza Award finalists.

The 20 semi-finalists for the Lou Groza Award are announced on Monday, October 31, 2005, followed with the naming of the three finalists two weeks later on Monday, November 14, 2005.

The award, now in its 14th year, is named for National Football League (NFL) Hall-of-Fame kicker Lou Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. Nicknamed 'The Toe,' Groza was one of the first people to truly make kicking an art form, and he helped usher in to football the idea that a player could be used exclusively for kicking.

The Lou Groza Award is also sponsored by BankAtlantic, The Breakers, Continental Airlines, ESPN Radio 760, ESPN Regional Television, Florida Coca-Cola Bottling, JBS Destination Solutions, Palm Beach Kennel Club, The Palm Beach Post, Parallax Productions, Rooney's Public House and WPEC News Channel 12.

For more information regarding the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, please go to or contact Dusty Ann Williams at the Palm Beach County Sports Institute at (561) 233-3122.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder