Jesse Ainsworth On Lou Groza Award Preseason Watch List

Aug. 13, 2005

WEST PALM BEACH, FL - One of last year's top three finalist and kickers from some of the top-ranked teams in the country highlight the 2005 Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award Preseason Watch List.

The Preseason Watch List is comprised of the top 30 preliminary candidates for the 14th annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, presented by the FedEx Orange Bowl. The top three finalists are recognized during the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award Banquet and Silent Auction on Tuesday, December 6, 2005, at the Palm Beach Gardens Marriott and the winner is announced on Thursday, December 8, 2005 during the ESPN Home Depot College Football Award Show in Orlando, Florida.

Among kickers named to the Lou Groza Award Preseason Watch List is a Lou Groza Award finalist from last year, Andrew Wellock of Eastern Michigan University.

Also making the list are the place-kickers from some of the top rated teams this season. They include Jesse Ainsworth, Arizona State University; John Vaughn, Auburn University; Kyle Schilcher, University of Iowa; Arthur Carmody, University of Louisville; Stephen Gostkowski, University of Memphis; Garrett Rivas, University of Michigan; Josh Cummings, University of Pittsburgh; Ben Jones, Purdue University ; James Wilhoit, University of Tennessee; and Brandon Pace, Virginia Tech.

A brief biography of each player on the Lou Groza Award Preseason Watch List can be found at beginning August 31, 2005.

Kickers on the Lou Groza Award Preseason Watch List were chosen based on statistics from the 2004 season and 2005 preseason expectations. However, all Division I-A kickers are eligible for consideration for the award.

A panel of over 300 experts vote on the award, including Division I-A head coaches, sports writers and sportscasters, conference representatives, professional kickers and all previous Groza Award finalists.

The 20 semi-finalists for the Lou Groza Award are announced on Monday, October 31, 2005, followed with the naming of the three finalists two weeks later on Monday, November 14, 2005.

The award, now in its 14th year, is named for National Football League (NFL) Hall-of-Fame kicker Lou Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. Nicknamed 'The Toe,' Groza was one of the first people to truly make kicking an art form, and he helped usher in to football the idea that a player could be used exclusively for kicking.

The Lou Groza Award is also sponsored by BankAtlantic, The Breakers, Continental Airlines, ESPN Radio 760, ESPN Regional Television, Florida Coca-Cola Bottling, JBS Destination Solutions, Palm Beach Kennel Club, The Palm Beach Post, Parallax Productions, Rooney's Public House and WPEC News Channel 12.

For more information regarding the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, please go to or contact Dusty Ann Williams at the Palm Beach County Sports Institute at (561) 233-3122.

2005 Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award Preseason Watch List

LAST NAME FIRST NAME UNIVERSITY YEARAinsworth, Jesse Arizona State University JuniorVaughn, John Auburn University JuniorMedlock,  Justin University of California, Los Angeles JuniorCrosby,  Mason University of Colorado JuniorNuzie, Matt  University of Connecticut JuniorWellock ,Andrew Eastern Michigan University JuniorBell, Travis Georgia Tech SophomoreSchlicher,  Kyle  The University of Iowa JuniorComiskey, Sean University of Louisiana Lafayette SeniorHorwedel, Danny Louisiana Tech University SophomoreCarmody, Arthur University of Louisville  SophomoreGostkowski,  Stephen The University of Memphis SeniorPeattie, Jon University of Miami JuniorRivas, Garrett University of Michigan JuniorSmith,  Colby  Middle Tennessee State University JuniorBarth, Connor The University of North Carolina SophomoreBazaldua Nick University of North Texas SeniorFitzpatrick, D.J.  University of Notre Dame SeniorSerna,  Alexis Oregon State University SophomoreCummings, Josh University of Pittsburgh SeniorJones,  Ben Purdue University SeniorBrown, Josh University of South Carolina SeniorMcCaleb, Darren The University of Southern Mississippi JuniorWilhoit,  James  The University of Tennessee JuniorPino, David University of Texas SeniorPegram, Todd Texas A&M University SeniorSchneider, Reagan University of Texas at El Paso JuniorHughes, Connor University of Virginia  SeniorPace, Brandon Virginia Tech JuniorYaussi,  Deric University of Wyoming Senior
Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder