Havner and Lewis Named to Walter Camp Foundation Watch List

Aug. 17, 2005

The Walter Camp Football Foundation has announced thenames of 40 'players to watch' for its prestigious Player of the Yearaward, the nation's fourth-oldest individual college football accolade.

UCLA tight end Marcedes Lewis and linebacker Spencer Havner are on the watch list.

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists in early November.The 2005 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 119 Division I-A head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on the ESPN/Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation's annual national awards banquet on February 11, 2006 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

Walter Camp, 'The Father of American football,' first selected anAll-America team in 1889. Camp - a former Yale University athlete andfootball coach - is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, setplays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction ofplay to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation - a NewHaven-based all-volunteer group - was founded in 1967 to perpetuate theideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually anAll-America team.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder