Nikki Blue Named Wade Trophy Candidate

Aug. 17, 2005

UCLA senior guard Nikki Blue was selected today as one of 25 pre-season candidates for the State Farm Wade Trophy Division I Player of the Year award. The pre-season list was announced by the Women's Basketball Coaches Association after being compiled by a committee consisting of leading basketball coaches, journalists and basketball administrators. The candidates have been selected based on their game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability.

Eleven of the 25 candidates appeared on last season's list including UCLA's Blue, LSU's Seimone Augustus (last year's winner), Duke's Monique Curry, Texas' Tiffany Jackson, North Carolina's Ivory Latta, Arizona's Shawntinice Polk, Rutgers' Cappie Pondexter, DePaul's Khara Smith, Utah's Kim Smith, UConn's Ann Strother and Baylor's Sophia Young.

Also on the list are: Ohio State's Jessica Davenport, Maryland's Shay Doron, Notre Dame's Megan Duffy, Temple's Candice Dupree, LSU's Sylvia Fowles, Texas Tech's Erin Grant, Georgia's Tasha Humphrey, Miami's Tamara James, Maryland's Crystal Langhorne, North Carolina's Erlana Larkins, Michigan State's Liz Shimek, North Carolina State's Tiffany Stansbury, Stanford's Candice Wiggins and Tennessee's Shanna Zolman.

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 28th year and named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball. This most prestigious award, recognized as the 'Heisman of Women's Basketball', is organized by the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA), in conjunction with the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS).

The 2006 Wade Trophy winner will be announced during the WBCA National Convention held in conjunction with the NCAA Women's Final Four in Boston, MA.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder