Derek Hagan Named to Biletnikoff Award Watch List

Aug. 22, 2005

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State University senior wide receiver Derek Hagan (Palmdale, Calif.) is one of 31 players on the Watchlist for the 2005 Biletnikoff Award, given annually to the top receiver in Division I college football.

In 2004, Hagan caught 83 passes for 1,248 yards and 10 touchdowns for the Vitalis Sun Bowl Champions. He became only the second Sun Devil in school history to record back-to-back 1,000-yard receiving seasons, after gaining 1,076 yards in 2003. Hagan enters his senior year needing only eight receptions, 265 yards and six touchdowns to become the Sun Devil's all-time leader in those categories.The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. (TQC Foundation), the creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award (presented annually to the nation's outstanding college football receiver), is an independent, charitable organization founded in 1994. Braylon Edwards of Michigan won the award in 2004.Over 50 Prominent journalists, commentators, announcers and former players select the winner through a process audited by a CPA firm. While the TQC Foundation Trustees manage the organization, they have no role in the winner's selection. The award is presented annually on the ESPN College Awards Show and the TQC Foundation hosts the party at Walt Disney World for the finalists and sponsoring organizations of the many awards presented on ESPN.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder