Ianni, Wynne Selected To M.A.C. Hermann Trophy Watch List

Aug. 24, 2005

Junior defender/midfielder Patrick Ianni (Lodi, Calif.) and sophomore defender Marvell Wynne (Poway, Calif.) have been selected to the 2005 Missouri Athletic Club Hermann Trophy Watch List. The 25-man list was compiled by a panel of coaches from the National soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).

Both players were starters on the U.S. Under-20 National Team that shut out its first three opponents to win Group D and advanced to the Round of 16 at the 2005 World Youth Championships. Ianni and Wynne were also named pre-season All-Americans by Soccer America. During the 2004 collegiate season, Ianni was selected the 2004 Pac-10 Co-Player of the Year and named to the All-Pac-10 first team. Wynne played in all 20 games for the Bruins, making 17 starts and recording two assists on the year.

A list of 15 semifinalists for the award will be announced in early November, with the three finalists announced in December. The trio will be invited to St. Louis for a news conference and dinner held at the Missouri Athletic Club on Jan. 6, 2006, where the winner of the award will be revealed. The winner is determined through voting of NCAA Division I members of the NSCAA.

The Bruins are ranked No. 2 in Soccer America's pre-season poll and No. 9 in the NSCAA/adidas poll and open the season on Friday, Sept. 2 at 5 pm against No. 13 Santa Clara at the Cal State Fullerton Diadora Classic before hosting No. 4 Maryland in UCLA's home opener on Sunday, Sept. 4 at 2 pm.

2005 M.A.C. Hermann Trophy Watch List
Gerardo Alvarez, Jr., Northwestern, Aurora, Ill.
Medhi Ballouchy, Jr., Santa Clara, Casablanca, Morocco
Blake Camp, Sr., Duke, Danielsville, Ga.
Greg Dalby, Jr., Notre Dame, Poway, Calif.
Leandro de Oliveira, Sr., UAB, Bryan, Texas
John DiRaimondo, Jr., Saint Louis, St. Louis, Mo.
Jason Garey, Sr., Maryland, Gonzales, La.
Matt Groenwald, Sr., St. John's, Mt. Prospect, Ill.
Patrick Ianni, Jr., UCLA, Lodi, Calif.
Julius James, So., Connecticut, Maloney Gardens, Trinidad
Scott Jones, Jr., UNC-Greensboro, Dallas, Texas
Sacha Kljestan, Jr., Seton Hall, Huntington Beach, Calif.
Mpho Moloi, Sr., Connecticut, Soweto, South Africa
Justin Moose, Sr., Wake Forest, Statesville, N.C.
Dayton O'Brien, Sr., Memphis, Memphis, Tenn.
Dominic Oduro, Sr., Virginia Commonwealth, Accra, Ghana
Randi Patterson, Jr., UNC-Greensboro, Hackensack, N.J.
Jacob Peterson, Jr., Indiana, Portage, Mich.
Brian Plotkin, Sr., Indiana, Lisle, Ill.
Tyler Rosenlund, So., UC Santa Barbara, Port Coquitlam, B.C.
Jeff Rowland, Sr., New Mexico, Albuquerque, N.M.
Nathan Sturgis, So., Clemson, St. Augustine, Fla.
Michael Videira, So., Duke, Milford, Mass.
Marvell Wynne, So., UCLA, Poway, Calif.
Jed Zayner, Jr., Indiana, Overland Park, Ill.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder