Dale Robinson Added To Bronko Nagurski Award Watch List

Sept. 20, 2005

TEMPE, Ariz. -

Senior Linebacker Dale Robinson has been added to the Bronko Nagurski Award Watch List, the award given annually to the nation's best defensive player. The Queens, NY native leads the Pac-10 with six tackles for loss, and is averaging more than nine tackles a game for the 18th ranked Sun Devils. Former ASU standout Terrell Suggs won the award in 2002.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy has been a staple of the FWAA's awards since 1993. It is sponsored by the Charlotte Touchdown Club, which has held the annual awards banquet since 1995. The 2005 banquet is set for Monday, Dec. 5, at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, where five finalists will vie for the prize. Texas linebacker Derrick Johnson won the 2004 Bronko Nagurski Trophy.

The FWAA All-America Committee selects the Bronko Nagurski winner from the association's 11-man All-America defensive team in late November. For the fifth straight season, the FWAA will select Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Players of the Week, beginning with games the week of Sept. 3 and running through the middle of November. Each national player of the week will be added to the trophy's watch list throughout the season. The 2004 winner of the Bronko Nagurski Award was Derrick Johnson of Texas.

Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder