Arizona State To Induct Hall of Fame Class of 2005

Sept. 23, 2005

TEMPE, Ariz. -

Arizona State University will welcome five members to its athletics Hall of Fame this year, Vice President for University Athletics Lisa Love announced today. Three men and two women make up the Class of 2005, who will be honored on October 1 as the Sun Devil football team takes on USC at Sun Devil Stadium. The Class of 2005 covers five different sports.

The 2005 honorees are Tina Brinkman (gymnastics), Amy Fruhwirth (women's golf), Jim Merrick (baseball), Sargis Sargsian (men's tennis), and Darren Woodson (football).

'This Hall of Fame class is a great representation of ASU athletics, encompassing five different sports,' said Love. 'These honorees were all champions on the field and in the classroom, and truly embody the great tradition of Sun Devil athletics.'

Brinkman (gymnastics/1992-95) earned All-American honors three times, and was a three-time All-Pac-10 performer. She was also an Academic All-Pac-10 selection in 1995. She won the Pac-10 championship in Uneven bars, Vault, and was a three-time Pac-10 champion in the floor exercise.

Fruhwirth (women's golf/1986-91) was a member of the 1989-90 NCAA championship team. A three-time All-American selection, as well as a three-time All-Pac-10 honoree, Fruhwirth was the 1991 U.S. Amateur Champion. She won the 1989 Lady Sun Devil Invitational, the 1990 USC Yamaha Invitational, and the 1987 U.S. Japan Intercollegiate Tournament. She graduated in 1991 with a bachelor's degree in business.

Merrick (baseball/1963-65) helped lead the Sun Devils to their first ever College World Series berth, and ultimately, their first National Championship. Merrick was the winning pitcher in the 1965 National Title game, giving up only one run over six innings against Ohio State. He won 13 games that season, including 10 complete games. Merrick went on to be the head baseball coach at McClintock High School, having the field named after him in 2005.

Sargsian (men's tennis/1994-95) became the first NCAA Singles Champion in school history in 1995 while earning All-American honors in both of his years in Tempe. He won four collegiate Grand Slam titles, becoming the first Sun Devil to ever win a Grand Slam event, as well as the 1995 NCAA Player of the Year Award. Sargsian also earned the 1995 Pac-10 Player of the Year, was twice named to the All-Pac-10 team, and finished his collegiate career ranked #1 in the nation. The native Armenian finished his Sun Devil career with an 82-17 singles record and a 42-21 doubles mark. Sargsian eanred a bachelor's degree in business in 1995.

Woodson (football/1989-91) was a three-time All Pac-10 Honorable Mention and captain of the 1991 team during his senior season. A second round draft choice of the Dallas Cowboys in the 1992 NFL Draft, Woodson went on to become one of the best defensive players in NFL history. A five-time pro bowler, Woodson retired from the Cowboys in 2005 as the all-time leading tackler in franchise history. He finished his NFL career with 23 interceptions, and was a member of three Super Bowl championship teams.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder