Stanford Invitational Slated For Saturday At Stanford Golf Course

Sept. 23, 2005

Stanford, Ca - The 32nd edition of the Stanford Cross Country Invitational on Saturday features many of the top collegiate men's and women's runners challenging for team and individual honors over the Stanford Golf Course (second hole). Student-athletes representing more than 50 teams will compete in the collegiate races. The men will compete at 8,000 meters, while the women will race 6,000 meters. Also, both men and women will compete at 4,000 meters.

A top quality field high school field will also compete. In all, twenty races will be held throughout the day at Stanford.

The two-time NCAA team champion Stanford Cardinal highlight the women's collegiate fields. First-year coach Peter Tegen comes to The Farm after 30 years at Wisconsin where his Badgers won two NCAA team titles and his athletes won 43 NCAA titles in track and cross country. All-Americans Teresa McWalters, Ari Lambie, Katy Trotter return to lead Stanford, and will be joined by Amanda Trotter, Julie Allen, Katie Harrington, Lauren Centrowitz, and Lindsay Flacks. The Cardinal opened the season with a win at the USF Invitational highlighted by the 1-2 individual finish of Lambie and Allen. The UC Santa Barbara Gauchos are expected to challenge the Cardinal. The Gauchos, who finished 17th at last year's NCAA championships, return Big West champ Lauren Christman, Stephanie Rothstein, Lindsay Christman, Megan Lewis and Hadas Moser from the squad that won UCSB's second straight Big West loop title. Cal Poly claimed 9th in the West Regional and returns Lauren Magdaleno. Texas Tech finished 10th last fall in the Mountain Regional. The University of Portland is the defending West Coast Conference champions and are led by conference champ Amie Dahnke. The University of British Columbia is rated second in the NAIA rankings, while Azusa Pacific is ranked seventh.

The collegiate men's field features two teams that finished in the top ten at last year's NCAA Championships - the host Stanford University and Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. The Stanford Cardinal, sixth at the last fall's collegiate championships, have won four NCAA team titles in the last decade and eight of the last nine Pac-10 crowns. All-American Nef Araia returns to lead the Stanford contingent, which includes Jon Pierce, Brett Gotcher, David Vidal and Forrest Tahdooanippah. Last year, the Cal Poly Mustangs claimed their fifth Big West title in the last seven years on the way to finishing tenth in Terre Haute at the NCAA meet. The Mustangs return Brandon Collins, Phillip Reid, Andy Coughlin, and Luke Llamas. The University of Portland Pilots claimed fifth at the West Regional and won their 26th consecutive West Coast Conference title. John Moore, Micah Rolfe, Chuck McKenzie, and Michael Kilburg, John Hoeck, and Brett Carter return to lead the Pilots, and will be joined by redshirt freshman David Kinsella. Azusa Pacific and the University of British Columbia are ranked fourth and fifth respectively in the NAIA rankings. Individually, Liberty's Josh McDougal was one of last season's top collegiate freshman, running undefeated up until the NCAA championships where he finished 13th. This year younger brother Jordan will be joining his brother on the Liberty squad.

2005 Stanford Cross Country Invitational
Schedule of Events
High School

9:45 a.m., J.V. Girls Divisions 3,4,5, 3000 Meters
9:50 a.m., J.V. Boys Divisions 3,4,5, 3000 Meters
10:10 a.m., Varsity Girls Division 5, 5000 Meters
10:40 a.m., Varsity Boys Division 5, 5000 Meters
11:05 a.m., Varsity Girls Division 4, 5000 Meters
11:35 a.m., Varsity Boys Division 4, 5000 Meters
12:00 p.m., Varsity Girls Division 3, 5000 Meters
12:30 p.m., Varsity Boys Division 3, 5000 Meters
12:55 p.m., J.V. Girls Divisions 1 & 2, 3000 Meters
1:15 p.m., J.V. Boys Divisions 1 & 2, 3000 Meters
1:35 p.m., Varsity Girls Division 2, 5000 Meters
2:00 p.m., Varsity Boys Division 2, 5000 Meters
2:25 p.m., Varsity Girls Division 1, 5000 Meters
2:50 p.m., Varsity Boys Division, 5000 Meters

4:10 p.m., Women, 5000 Meters, Non-Scored Race
4:35 p.m., Women, 4000 Meters, Scored Race (short course)
4:55 p.m., Men, 4000 Meters, Scored Race (short course)
5:15 p.m., Women, 6000 Meters, Scored Race (long course)
5:45 p.m., Men, 8000 Meters, Scored Race (long course)
6:15 p.m., Men, 8000 Meters, Non-Scored Race

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:45 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder