Sun Devil Harriers Set to Host 20th ASU Invite Friday

Oct. 4, 2005

Weekly Notes (pdf) | Statistics | 2005 Rosters | Schedule & Results

TEMPE, Ariz. - The Arizona State University cross country program will play host to its lone home meet of the season this Friday night as the Sun Devils compete in the 20th Arizona State Invitational at Tempe Kiwanis Park. The women's 5,000m race is set to start at 4:45 p.m. with the men's 8,000m run closing out the meet at 5:15 p.m.

Arizona State and Arizona comprise two of the 12 teams that have entered into the ASU Invitational Friday night at Kiwanis Park. The other teams include Dine College, GateWay CC, Glendale CC, Mesa CC, Phoenix College, Pima CC, Scottsdale CC, Western New Mexico University, Yavapai College and a team of unattached athletes. Several former Sun Devil runners will be competing in the race as well.

Following their victory at the Roy Griak Invitational, the Sun Devil women climbed into a tie for sixth in the national rankings before taking over No. 6 by themselves this week. The men, who's poll is not released until Tuesday, were ranked 27th last week.

Of the teams competing Friday afternoon, Arizona's men are ranked No. 6 in the nation in Division I with four other teams holding Top 10 rankings in their respective divisions. In the women's NJCAA poll, Yavapai stands fifth and Scottsdale is seventh while the men's poll sees Pims in fifth and GateWay in ninth.

Back in 1983, Lynn Nelson won four races for the Sun Devils and set the career victories mark for the program at four. Twenty-two years later, Amy Hastings rewrote the record as she captured the Roy Griak Invitational for the fifth win in her remarkable career. Hastings won the 2003 Dave Murray and Arizona State Invitational before capturing the 2004 Dave Murray and the 2004 Pac-10 Championship, the only Sun Devil to have ever captured the league crown.

The George Kyte Invitational was won by junior Jenna Wrieden to open the season on Sept. 3. Two weeks later, redshirt freshman Brooke Bennett won the Dave Murray Invitational on Sept. 16. Last weekend at the Roy Griak Invitational, Amy Hastings won the event for the women to give ASU an individual win in each of the three meets it has participated in this year.

The women captured their fourth title in seven tries at the Roy Griak Invitational last weekend, placing the 2005 championship trophy next to crowns won in 2003, 2001 and 1999. ASU also placed second in 2004 and 2002 and third in 2000. Amy Hastings' victory not only gave the Sun Devils at Top 4 finisher in each of the seven meets ASU has participated, it also marked the first victory at the meet for the women. Lisa Aguilera had been the closest to victory as she finished second on three occasions (1999, 2000 and 2001) while Hastings had placed third each of the past two seasons.

Amy Hastings made history last year at the Pac-10 Championships as she became the first Sun Devil harrier, male and female, to win the conference title as she finished first at the annual meet conducted at Golden Gate Park in San Francisco. Hastings' victory helped the women to second place in the team standings for the third year in a row. For her efforts, she also was selected as Pac-10 Athlete of the Year.

A pair of runners attained All-America honors last season at the NCAA Championships, held Nov. 22 in Terre Haute, Ind. Both Amy Hastings and Aaron Aguayo finished 22nd overall in their respective races to earn the national accolade while pacing their squads to ninth and eighth place team finishes, respectively, at the national meet. Hastings earned her second All-America honor in cross country in as many seasons while Aguayo captured his first.

Thirteen women and 15 men return in 2005 to compete for the Sun Devils. On the women's side, several notable returnees include a quartet of harriers that competed at the NCAA Championships in 2004: Amy Hastings, Victoria Jackson, Anna Masinelli and Rachel Ellison. On the men's side, six of the seven runners at the national meet return, including Aaron Aguayo, Casey Burchill, Roger Cahill, Kal Clark, Velibor Radejovic and Ryan Warrenburg.

The Sun Devil men's and women's rosters each expanded by 10 spots this season with the women adding eight freshmen and one transfer while the men brought in eight freshmen and a pair of transfers. On the women's side, the rookie class includes freshmen Jocelyn Buras, Chelsea Caloia, Krystal Duke, Jill Glover, Ali Kielty, Samantha Knobbe, Angela Spadafino and Allyson Stewart. They are joined by Taylor Carroll, a transfer from Pepperdine and Lauren Hayes, a member of ASU's track and field team last season.

On the men's side, the freshmen are Max Baecker, Ross Blahnik, Ken Brook, Michael Cronin, Ian Moore, Tyler Raspiller, Tyler Scott and Sandy Skouson. Kyle Alcorn comes to the program after transferring from conference rival Oregon while Brent Wood rounds out the class after transferring in from near-by Mesa Community College.

One final addition to the Sun Devil program is Rhonda Riley, who will serve as a graduate assistant following her graduation from Oregon State in 2004.

Over the past four seasons, the men's roster has had a Duke on it and this year, that will remain true as J.J. Duke returns for his senior season. This year, however, the women's roster also will include a Duke as Krystal Duke, J.J.'s sister, joins the Sun Devils.

Louie Quintana returns to the helm of the Sun Devil cross country program for his second season following one of the most successful seasons in program history. Not only did Quintana guide Amy Hastings to the program's first conference title in cross country, he also put together men's and women's teams that placed second in the Pac-10 and second in the NCAA West Region before earning berths into the NCAA Championships. At the national meet, Quintana's men took eighth and the women ninth as each team also produced one All-American each.

Arizona State will split its squads and head to two different meets next weekend as several athletes will compete at the NCAA Pre-National Meet in Terre Haute, Ind., while the remaining runners will compete in Tempe at the Canyon West Classic. Both races will be held Saturday.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder