UW Golfers Host Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational

Oct. 8, 2005

Seattle - The eighth-ranked Washington women's golf team plays host to the 24th annual Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational Oct. 10-12 at the par-72, 6,190-yard Sahalee Country Club in Sammamish Wash. The field for this year's tournament includes nine teams currently ranked in Golfweek's top-25 poll.

The 14-team field for this year's event includes (Golfweek Ranking): Arizona, Arizona State (9), Brigham Young (22), California (25), Long Beach State, Oregon (21), Oregon State (24), Pepperdine (2), San Francisco, Stanford, UNLV (10), USC (16), Washington (8) and Washington State.

Last season Oklahoma State shot 899 to win the tournament by 19 strokes. Washington and Oregon tied for second at 918. The Cowgirls' Karin Sjodin took medalist honors at 3-under 213 while teammate Annie Thurman was second at 6-over 222. Washington was led by freshman Kim Shin's sixth-place performance at 225.

The Ihlanfeldt Invitational will include a practice round on Sunday at noon. The first round of competition is Monday at 9 a.m. using both the first and 10th tees. Tuesday's second round starts at 10:15 a.m. while the final round gets underway at 8 a.m. Wednesday. Live scoring of the event will be available at GolfStat.com.

The Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational is named for the founder of the Washington women's golf program. One of the Pacific Northwest's most honored golfer, Ihlanfeldt started the UW program in 1974 before retiring seven years later in 1981. Ihlanfeldt never accepted payment for his work as the Huskies' coach. She donated her salary back into the program to fund scholarships.

The Huskies have never won the team title at the Ihlanfeldt Invitational, but two Washington players have turned in the best individual score. Nancy Kessler won the individual title in 1987 and Dodie Mazzuca, on the strength of a final-round score of 65, tied Stanford's Andrea Baxter for medalist honors in 1996.

Washington's lineup for this year's event includes sophomore Kim Shin, junior Amy Wang, junior Courtney McCracken, junior Amber Prange and senior Sung Ea Lee. Junior Ashley Bickerton will compete as an individual. Husky senior Paige Mackenzie will not play in the event while competing at the Spirit International competition.