Huskies Set To Compete At NCAA Swimming & Diving Championships

March 14, 2006

SEATTLE-- Washington swimmers Jessica Buchanan, Brittany Epperson and Sharon Olson will compete at the 2006 NCAA Women's Swimming and Diving Championships in Athens, Ga., Mar. 16-18. The trip marks the third for Olson, second for Buchanan and first for Epperson.

Epperson will swim Washington's only race on Thurs., Mar. 16, when she competes in the 50 freestyle. She is seeded 51st in the event with a time of 23.16, which ranks second on the UW all-time list.

The Huskies will compete in two races on Friday with Olson swimming the 200 freestyle and Buchanan swimming the 100 breaststroke. Olson is seeded 31st in the 200 free with a time of 1:48.18, which marks the second-fastest time in Husky history behind current UW assistant coach Kim Harada. Buchanan is seeded 35th in the 100 breaststroke with a time of 1:03.35, which also ranks second on the UW all-time chart.

All three Huskies will swim on Saturday with Olson and Epperson going head-to-head in the 100 freestyle and Buchanan swimming the 200 breaststroke. Epperson is seeded 27th in the 100 free and ranks second on the UW all-time list with a time of 49.87. Olson is seeded 55th in the 100 free and ranks third on the school's all-time list with a time of 50.53. Buchanan is seeded 27th in the 200 breaststroke with a time of 2:15.03, which is the third fastest time in program history.

The meet, hosted by Georgia, will take place at the Gabrielsen Natatorium inside the Ramsey Center. Preliminary heats begin each day at 11 a.m. EST/ 8 a.m. PST with finals beginning at 7 p.m. EST/ 4 p.m. PST.

Thurs., Mar. 16
50 Freestyle- Brittany Epperson

Fri., Mar. 17
200 Freestyle- Sharon Olson
100 Breaststroke- Jessica Buchanan

Sat., Mar. 17100 Freestyle- Brittany Epperson and Sharon Olson
200 Breaststroke- Jessica Buchanan

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Unable to get Pac-12 Network?
Contact your provider ▶
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close