No. 8 Women's Rowing Finishes Second at San Diego Crew Classic

April 3, 2006

The USC women's rowing varsity eight boat notched a second place finish at the 33rd annual San Diego Crew Classic, its best finish since the Trojans won the Jessop Whitter Cup in 2001. The eighth-ranked Women of Troy came out on fire, they were the first off the line and lead the first 1000 meters of the race before falling to Pac-10 foe and defending national champions California.

'I think this was the closest race we have had at a regatta like this,' said Coach Kelly Babraj. 'It really showed that we just lack in experience, it was really very promising.'

The Varsity Eight close race was led by Liz O'Neill (cox), Tatiana Boldyreva,(stroke), Magda Madziewicz, Ligita Kaviere, Dunja Pejcic, Anna Efremova, Diana Ivanova, Simone Manhold, Megan Biging, with a tie of 6:54.29.

The JV Eight also had an excellent first regatta, finishing fourth behind California, Washington State and Stanford with a time of 7:00.99.

'The third, fourth and fifth boat were all very close' Babraj said of the JV team ' We could have been third and we also could have been fifth. It was a very good race for this time of year.'

The Novice finished second in the Petite final after having a rough first race on Saturday. The team caught a crab and came to a complete stop. Unfortunately the combination of the mistake and a harsh tailwind made it difficult for the Trojans to have a showing they are capable of.

The Women of Troy take to the water next weekend, in Columbus Ohio, where they take on No. 7 Ohio State, No. 14 Tennessee, and No. 13 Michigan State on April 8.


Jessop-Whittier Cup Grand FinalWomen's Varsity

1. California 6:52:102. USC 6:54:293. Washington St.6:57:834. Notre Dame 6:58:665. UCLA 7:01:976. Wisconsin 7:05:81

Jackie Ann Stitt Hungness TrophyWomen's JV Grand Final

1. California 6:54:802. Washington St. 6:55:423. Stanford 6:59:314. USC 7:00:995. Wisconsin 7:01:236. UCLA 7:04:89


Varsity Eight:Cox Liz O'Neill,stroke: Tatiana Boldyreva7. Magda Madziewicz6. Ligita Kaviere5. Dunja Pejcic4. Anna Efremova3. Diana Ivanova2. Simone Manhold1. Megan Biging

JV Eight:Cox Lauren Cowanstroke: Kinga Marciszewska7. Shelley Koskovich6. Laura McDaniel5. Michaellyn Blando4. Phebe Greenwood3. Jessica Smith2. Robin Hextrum1. Lauren Derby

Novice Eightcox: Lisa Sabalvaro8. Lauren Klak7. Julia McIlvaine6. Nichole Fischbach5. Cassie Richardson4. Courtney Porter3. Cali Munoz2. Claire Tenscherbow Angie DePetrillo-Bucci

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder