Men's Golf Hosting Thunderbird Invitational Saturday And Sunday

April 7, 2006

KARSTEN TO HOST ASU THUNDERBIRD INVITATIONAL: The Arizona State men'sgolf team plays host on April 8-9 (Friday-Saturday) to the 34thannual ASU Thunderbird Invitational at ASU's Karsten Golf Course(par-71, 7,017 yards). The 15 teams will play 36 holes on Saturday,April 8, followed by a final round on Sunday, April 9. ASU has wonfive of the past seven (1999-2001, 2003-2004) ThunderbirdInvitationals and has won the tournament 12 of the past 17 years.Last year, Last year, UNLV shot a 17-over 859 to win the tournamentwhile Arizona's Kipp Riehle took home medalist honors with a 7-under206. In 2004, ASU shot a tournament record 43-under 821 to beatArizona by eight strokes while ASU's Alejandro Canizares won medalisthonors with a 16-under 200 (65-66-69) which tied the tournamentrecord.


Niklas Lemke6-3/Jr./Linkoping, Sweden9-27-72.33

Alejandro Canizares5-10/Sr./Manilva, Spain9-27-71.596-time Medalist2004 ASUThunderbird Champion

Benjamin Alvarado Holley6-0/Fr./Santiago, Chile7-21-72.90

Erik Coover5-11/Fr./Scottsdale, Ariz.2-6-75.00

Lenny Park5-7/Sr./Sochko, Korea.7-21-74.76

SUN DEVIL HISTORY: ASU has won the Thunderbird Invitational 13 times(1984, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001,2003 and 2004). Nine times Sun Devils have won the individual title:Mark Sollenberger (1974), Jim Carter (1984), Phil Mickelson (1991 and1992), Larry Barber (1994), Todd Demsey (1995), Jeff Quinney (1999),Paul Casey (2000) and Alejandro Canizares (2004).

COMPETING SCHOOLS AND LEAGUES: The 15 competing schools, representingsix conferences, are: Arizona (Pac-10), ASU (two teams), Arkansas(SEC), California (Pac-10), UCF (Conference USA), Colorado State(Mountain West), Illinois (Big Ten), Kansas State (Big 12), Oregon(Pac-10), Penn State (Big Ten), San Diego State (Mountain West),Stanford (Pac-10), South Carolina (SEC), Texas Tech (Big 12) and UNLV(Mountain West). There will be a shotgun start on Saturday at 7:30a.m. while Saturday's regular tee-times from holes 1 and 10 willbegin at 7 a.m.

ASU HEAD COACH Randy Lein: Randy Lein has coached 60 tournamentvictories in his 24 seasons, tutored 50 All-Americans and added thetop accolade in collegiate golf in 1995-96 - the NCAA title - to hiscollection as the Sun Devils won the title in Chattanooga, Tenn.,with a three-stroke victory over UNLV at the Honors Course. In his14th season as ASU's coach, Lein has guided ASU to 37 tournamentvictories (including a school record six in 1995-96), seven Pac-10titles, four NCAA West Regional wins (three of the past six) andeight top-10 finishes at the NCAAs including the 1996 title. Inaddition, Lein has tutored NCAA medalists Todd Demsey and AlejandroCanizares and 13 All-Americans (29 occasions): Todd Demsey (3), ChrisHanell (3), Paul Casey (3), Cade Stone, Chris Stutts, Joey Snyder(2), Scott Johnson (2), Darren Angel (2), Jeff Quinney (3), MattJones (2), Chez Reavie (3), Alejandro Canizares (3) and Niklas Lemke(1). He has won Pac-10 Coach-of-the-Year five times (1993, 1995,1996, 1999 and 2000) while at ASU and twice at USC (1980 and 1986).Lein (pronounced 'Line') is a 1975 graduate of Cal State Northridge.

SUN DEVILS AS PAC-10 PLAYER OF THE YEAR: A list of Sun Devils whohave won Pac-10 Player of the Year honors: Scott Watkins (1979co-player of the year), Dan Forsman (1981 co-player of the year),Billy Mayfair (1987), Phil Mickelson (1990, 1991 and 1992), ToddDemsey (1994), Paul Casey (2000) and Jeff Quinney (2001 co-player ofthe Year) and Alejandro Canizares (2005).


TEAM TOTAL SCORE1. ASU 43-under 821 in 20042. ASU 40-under 824 in 2003T3 Arizona 32-under 832 in 2004T3. USC 32-under 832 in 2003T3. Texas 32-under 832 in 20026. ASU 30-under 834 in 1999T7. USC 29-under 835 in 2004T7. Pepperdine 29-under 835 in 20039. TCU 28-under 836 in 200310. ASU 26-under 838 in 2002

INDIVIDUAL TOTAL SCORET1.	Alejandro Canizares (ASU)	16-under 200 in 2004T1.	Bret Guetz (TCU)	16-under 200 in 2002T3.	David Schultz (TCU)	15-under 201 in 2003T3.	Jeff Quinney (ASU)	15-under 201 in 1999T5.	Ryan Moore (UNLV)	14-under 202 in 2004T5.	Aaron Bengoechea (Pacific)	14-under 202 in 1989T7.	Chez Reavie (ASU)	13-under 203 in 2004T7.	John Klauk (Texas)	13-under 203 in 2002T9.	Chris Nallen (Arizona)	12-under 204 in 2004T9.	Joshua Wooding (USC)	12-under 204 in 2004T9.	David Oh (USC)	12-under 204 in 2003T9.	Phil Mickelson (ASU)	12-under 204 in 1991


1973 Long Beach St. (ASU-5th) Lance Suzuki, BYU

1974 Oklahoma St.(ASU-2nd) Mark Sollenberger, ASU

1975 BYU (ASU T-2nd) Scott Simpson, USC

1976 BYU (ASU-3rd) John Fought, BYU

1977 Oklahoma St. (ASU-2nd) Lindy Miller, OSU

1978 BYU (ASU-2nd) Curt Worley, SDSU

1979 UCLA (ASU-2nd) Corey Pavin, UCLA

1980 BYU (ASU-2nd) Bob Clampett, BYU

1981 San Jose State (ASU-3rd) Steve Jones, Colorado

1982 BYU (ASU-3rd) Storm Gleib, Weber State

1983 Oklahoma St. (1,083) (ASU-11th) Willie Wood, Oklahoma State (211)

1984 ASU Jim Carter , ASU

1985 Fresno State (1,106) (ASU-5th) Howard Johnson, San Diego State (209)

1986 BYU (1,072) (ASU-2nd) Eduardo Herrera , BYU (207)

1987 UCLA (1,100) (ASU-4th) David Sutherland, FSU (211)

1988 Oklahoma St. (853) (ASU-4th) Michael Bradley, OSU (141)

1989 ASU 'B' (864/E) (ASU 'A'-2nd) Aaron Bengoechea, Pacific (202/-14)

1990 ASU (846/-18) Ramon Brobio, BYU (209/-7)

1991 ASU (840/-24) Phil Mickelson, ASU (204/-12)

1992 ASU (854/-10) Phil Mickelson, ASU (209/-7)

1993 UA(850/-14) (ASU-3rd) David White, Arkansas (208/-8)

1994 ASU (859/-5) Larry Barber, ASU (205/-11)

1995 Arkansas (867/+3) (ASU-2nd) Todd Demsey, ASU (213/-3)

1996 ASU (864/E) Lonnie Damon, BYU (214/-2)

1997 ASU (854/-10) Jeff Mixon, Oklahoma (209/-7)

1998 UCLA (867/+13) (ASU-2nd) Brandon Ditullio, UCLA (211/-5)

1999 ASU (834/-30) Jeff Quinney, ASU (201/-15)

2000 ASU (846/-18) Paul Casey, ASU (207/-9)

2001 ASU (839/-25) Anders Hultman, Okla. St. (206/-10)

2002 Texas (832/-32) Bret Guetz, TCU (200/-16)

2003 ASU (824/-40) David Schultz, TCU (201/-15)

2004 ASU (821/-43) Alejandro Canizares, ASU (200/-16)

2005 UNLV (859/+7) Kipp Riehle, Arizona (206/-7)

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder