No. 51 Arizona State Men's Tennis Team Tops Oregon 6-1

April 9, 2006

TEMPE, Ariz. - The No. 51 Arizona State Men's tennis team defeated the University of Oregon 6-1 this Sunday at the Whiteman Center in Tempe, Ariz. The Sun Devils are now 8-11 in the season and are 2-2 in conference play.

The Sun Devils started the match off right as they won two of their doubles matches to get the point. Playing at the number two spot, Nick Hegarty and Ryan McBride defeated Oregon's Hugh McDonald and Vladimir Pino 8-6. T.J. Bellama and Wes Miller outplayed Arron Spencer and Eric Pickard in a close match 9-7. Jonathan Kinsella and Ryan Waits dropped their match 8-6 to Thomas Bieri and Gustavo Lazo.

The Sun Devils continued to play well in the singles competition as they won five out of the six matches. At the number one spot Kinsella swept past Oregon's Bieri 6-2, 6-1 to clinch his match. After losing his first set to Oregon's Spencer, Sun Devil Christopher Biro came back to win his last two sets and the match 5-7, 6-4, 6-1 in the number three spot. ASU's Hegarty defeated Loza 6-2, 7-5.

Playing at the number five spot, ASU's T.J. Bellama dropped his first set only to come back and defeat Oregon's Pino 3-6, 6-1, 6-3. Miller won his match in two sets 6-0, 7-5 at the number five spot.

The Sun Devils travel to northern California to take on Pac-10 rivals California and Stanford. They take on Cal's Golden Bears on Friday April 14 at 1:30 p.m. and the Stanford Cardinal on Saturday at 1:00 p.m. They return home to close out Pac-10 play against in-state rival the University of Arizona Wildcats on Saturday April 22 at noon.

Jonathan Kinsella (ASU) def. Thomas Bieri (UO) 6-2, 6-1
Christopher Biro (ASU) def. Arron Spencer (UO) 5-7, 6-4, 6-1
Nick Hegarty (ASU) def. Gustavo Lazo (UO) 6-2, 7-5
Eric Pickard (UO) def. Ryan McBride (ASU) 6-7 (1), 6-4, ret.
T.J. Bellama (ASU) def. Vladimir Pino (UO) 3-6, 6-1, 6-3
Wesley Miller (ASU) def. Hugh McDonald (UO) 6-0, 7-5

Thomas Bieri/Gustavo Lazo (UO) def. Jonathan Kinsella/Ryan Waits (ASU) 8-6
Nick Hegarty/Ryan McBride (ASU) def. Hugh McDonald/Vladimir Pino (UO) 8-6
T.J. Bellama/Wesley Miller (ASU) def. Arron Spencer/Eric Pickard (UO) 9-7

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder