Pac-10 Honors Thirteen Stanford Swimmers

April 17, 2006

Walnut Creek, Ca - Not only is Stanford a top flight University in the sport of men's swimming, but many of its athletes are outstanding in the classroom.

Thirteen Cardinal swimmers have been honored by the Pacific-10 by inclusion on the 2006 Conference All-Academic team.

To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade point average and be either a starter or significant contributor.

Stanford's first team selection included Matt Crowe (Junior, Engineering major), Nathan Kim (Sophomore, Undeclared major), Michael McLean (Senior, Economics), Keenan Newman (Junior, Film and Media Studies/Psychology), Shaun Phillips (Junior, Psychology major), Mark Stephens (Senior, Engineering major), Hongzhe Sun (Junior, Management Science & Engineering major), and Ben Wildman-Tobriner (Junior, Engineering major).

Named second team All Pac-10 were Karl Boehringer (Senior, Art major) and Phillip Morrison (Sophomore, Undeclared major).

Honorable Mention status went to Daniel Beal (Sophomore, Undeclared major), Peter Carothers (Sophomore, Undeclared major), Egan Gans (Sophomore, Undeclared major) and Noa Sakamoto (Sophomore, Undeclared major).

During the 2006 season, Stanford won the Pacific-10 title for the 25th consecutive year, and then went on to finish third at the NCAA Championship.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder