Four Softball Bruins Named to NCAA's 25th Anniversary Team

April 18, 2006

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - The NCAA has named 10 former student-athletes and one coach to its NCAA Division I Softball 25th Anniversary Team for their outstanding achievements while participating in NCAA competition. The list includes for former UCLA players: Debbie Doom, Lisa Longaker, Lisa Fernandez and Natasha Watley. The NCAA is celebrating the 25th anniversary of women's championships in several sports during the 2005-06 season.

In 1981, the NCAA began sponsoring women's championships, which opened the door to increased athletic and academic opportunities for female athletes. Today, the NCAA sponsors 44 women's championships in 20 sports, providing more than 150,000 women with an opportunity to compete for national titles each year.

For the complete list of honorees, please Click Here.

An expert panel affiliated with softball selected the Division I Softball 25th Anniversary Team. The panel, which consisted of current and former coaches and athletics administrators, used historical data and results from online public voting at to make its decision.

The 2006 Division I Softball Championships begin May 19. The Women's College World Series is June 1-7 at the ASA Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City.

The following NCAA women's sports are celebrating their 25th anniversary during the 2005-06 season: Division I and III women's field hockey; Division I, II and III women's cross country; Division I, II and III women's volleyball; Division I, II and III women's swimming; Division I, II and III women's basketball; National Collegiate women's gymnastics; Division I, II and III women's tennis; Division I women's golf; Division I women's lacrosse; Division I women's rowing; Division I and II softball; and Division I, II and III women's outdoor track.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder