Cardinal Women Prepare For Pac-10 Championships

April 20, 2006

EVENT . . . The 20th Pacific-10 Conference Women's Golf Championship will take place April 24-26, 2006, at the Oro Valley Country Club (Par 72, 6,495) in Oro Valley, Ariz. Arizona is the Tournament host for this year's Pac-10 Championships. Admission is free to the public.

TOURNAMENT SCHEDULE . . . A practice round will take place on Sunday, April 23 starting at 11 a.m. before competition begins on Monday, April 24. Split tees will be utilized for this championship. The teams will play 18 holes each day, with rounds beginning at 8:30 a.m. on Monday and Tuesday and 8:00 a.m. on Wednesday. An awards ceremony and the announcement of the 2006 All-Pac-10 team will follow the completion of the tournament. Pairings (twosomes and threesomes) will be reordered for each round on Tuesday and Wednesday based on team scores.

Stanford, a five seed, will tee off from tee one beginning at 8:30 a.m.

TOURNAMENT SCORING . . . The three-round competition will be scored by stroke play. Each team will consist of five golfers. The top four individual scores will count toward the team score.

RANKINGS . . . As of April 17th, the Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index lists seven Pac-10 teams among the Top-30: No. 2 UCLA, No. 3 Arizona State, No. 6 USC, No. 12 California, No. 19 Arizona, No. 21 Stanford, and No. 27 Washington . . . Individually, USC's Irene Cho is ranked No. 2, followed by No. 5 Jane Park of UCLA, No. 6 Azahara Munoz of Arizona State, No. 8 Tiffany Joh of UCLA, No. 12 Jennifer Osborn of Arizona State, No. 14 Paige MacKenzie of Washington, No. 16 Amie Cochran of UCLA, No. 20 Sofie Andersson of California, No. 24 Alissa Kuczka of Arizona State, and No. 28 Tiffany Tavee of Arizona State.

TOURNAMENT RESULTS . . . At the conclusion of each round, results will be available via the internet. Point your browser to the Pac-10 website at Another option is to go to the Golfstat website at and click on live scoring (scores are updated every three holes). You may also go to the Arizona website at

No. 21 Stanford is looking for its first Pac-10 Championship since 1999, when the Cardinal hosted the event. The Cardinal women are coming off a third-place finish at the Peg Barnard Collegiate, thanks to top-10 finishes from Jenna Seki (5th), Mari Chun (7th), and Jennifer Tangtiphaiboontana (tie-10th). Senior Kelly Husted won the Kent Yoeul Invitational, leading the Cardinal to a season-best second place finish.

2005 PAC-10 WOMEN'S GOLF CHAMPIONSHIP RESULTS . . . UCLA captured its second consecutive Pac-10 Title and placed second at the NCAA Championship in 2005. UCLA shot a 10-over to stand at 874 and won the Pac-10 Tournament by four strokes. Arizona State's Louise Stahle carded a 5-under 67 in the final round to claim the individual title and brought the Sun Devils within four strokes of UCLA.

The Bruins placed second behind Duke at the NCAA Golf Championship by shooting a four-under 1148. California finished fifth in the NCAA Championship and was led by senior Claire Dury who finished tied for sixth, while UCLA's Amie Cochran finished tied for third. In addition to Cal, Arizona State, USC and Washington finished in the Top-15 at tied for eighth, tied for 11th and 14th, respectively, while Stanford finished 19th.

Arizona State's Louise Stahle was named Pac-10 Golfer of the Year as well as Pac-10 Freshman of the Year. For the second consecutive year, UCLA head coach Carrie Forsyth was named the Pac-10 Coach of the Year.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder