Pac-10 Men's and Women's Individual Tennis Championships Set to Begin

April 24, 2006

Draws | Live Results | Live Webcast

Day 1 Results
Day 2 Results
Day 3 Results
Day 4 Final Results
Photo Gallery

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

PACIFIC-10 INDIVIDUAL CHAMPIONSHIPS: The Pac-10's nine women's teams and eight men's teams head to Ojai, Calif., Thurs., April 27 through Sun., April 30, to decide the league's singles and doubles champions. The 32-player men's singles draw shall consist of four student-athletes from each school, and the 16-team doubles draw shall consist of two doubles teams from each school. For the women, the 32-player singles draw shall consist of three players from each of the nine schools that sponsor women's tennis, with five additional competitors selected by a committee of coaches, based upon the participants record. The 16-team doubles draw will have one doubles team from each school and seven additional teams selected by the committee, based upon the participants record.

WHAT & WHERE: Pac-10 competition will be held in conjunction with the 106th Annual Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament. The Pac-10 men will compete at Libbey Park in Ojai for all rounds. The Pac-10 women will play at the Ojai Valley Athletic Club Thurs., April 27, and Fri., April 28. All semifinal and final matches on Sat., April 29, and Sun., April 30, are at Libbey Park. Matches begin at 8 a.m., with two rounds of singles on opening day. One round of singles and two rounds of doubles will be played on Friday. Semifinals and finals will be held at a time yet to be determined.

OJAI HISTORY: The Ojai, as it is known in tennis circles, is the oldest amateur tennis tournament in the United States and has been interrupted only five years since its inception - in 1924 by hoof and mouth disease and four years during World War II. Pac-10 schools have competed in intercollegiate events in 95 of The Ojai's 105 tournaments beginning in 1911. Championship medals are awarded in both singles and doubles and the winner's names are inscribed on permanent trophies displayed each year at the tournament. Last year's singles winners were STANFORD's Sam Warburg and USC's Nicole Leimbach. Doubles winners were Stanford's KC Corkery and Sam Warburg on the men's side and the Cardinal's Alice Barnes and Anne Yelsey for the women.

MEDIA CONTACT: Sam Eaton will serve as the Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament coordinator. All media requests can be forwarded to him at (805) 963-2014, or During tennis competition, Eaton can be reached at the Ojai Tournament desk, (805) 646-7241. Results will be posted at, as well as on the Pac-10 website:

PAC-10 INDIVIDUAL AWARDS: Individual awards, including the Player of the Year, Doubles Team of the Year, Freshman of the Year and Coach of the Year, will be awarded after the conclusion of the Pac-10 Championships in Ojai and released from the Conference office.

NCAA CHAMPIONSHIPS: NCAA Regionals action will take place on campus sites, May 12 - 17. For the first time in NCAA history, both the NCAA Men's and Women's Tennis Championships will be held together at the Taube Tennis Center in Stanford, Calif., May 18 - 29.

PAC-10 MEN: Thirteen Pac-10 singles players are ranked in the ITA Top-125 national men's singles rankings (as of April 18). Seven Conference teams are represented by individuals, with UCLA junior Benjamin Kohlloeffel topping the list at No. 1. The Bruins leads the way with four individuals in the Top-125.

ARIZONA: No. 47 Roger Matalonga
ARIZONA STATE: No. 74 Jonathan Kinsella
CALIFORNIA: No. 3 Conor Niland; No. 116 Tyler Browne
OREGON: No. 76 Markus Schiller
STANFORD: No. 15 Matt Bruch; No. 23 KC Corkery; No. 113 James Pade
UCLA: No. 1 Benjamin Kohlloeffel; No. 71 Chris Surapol; No. 95 Haythem Abid; No. 96 Mathieu Dehaine
WASHINGTON: No. 33 Alex Slovic

In doubles, Pac-10 men's teams occupy six spots among the Top-60, with a ranked duo representing five different schools. USC leads the way with two ranked teams. UCLA's tandem of Philipp Gruendler and Benjamin Kohlloeffel is the second highest ranked doubles duo in the nation.

ARIZONA: No. 54 Claudio Christen/Jeff Groslimond
CALIFORNIA: No. 37 Conor Niland/Tyler Browne
STANFORD: No. 3 KC Corkery/James Pade
UCLA: No. 2 Philipp Gruendler/Benjamin Kohlloeffel
USC: No. 32 Jamil Al-Agba/Dejan Cvetkovic; No. 59 Jeffrey Kazarian/Kaes Van't

PAC-10 WOMEN: The Pac-10 women hold down 27 spots on the ITA's Top-125 singles rankings list through April 18. Of the Top-25 players ranked, eight players are ranked, more than any other conference. Eight Conference teams are represented by individuals, with junior Theresa Logar of STANFORD with the highest ranking at No. 6. Stanford leads the way with seven players ranked.

ARIZONA: No. 38 Danielle Steinberg; No. 68 Juliette Mavroleon
ARIZONA STATE: No. 74 Roxanne Clarke; No. 120 Sabrina Capannolo
CALIFORNIA: No. 8 Zsusanna Fodor; No. 26 Suzi Babos; No. 85 Cristina Visico; No. 88 Stephanie Kusano; No. 118 Marion Ravelojaona
OREGON: No. 40 Dominika Dieskova
STANFORD: No. 6 Theresa Logar; No. 7 Alice Barnes; No. 12 Anne Yelsey; No. 17 Amber Liu; No. 37 Celia Durkin; No. 48 Whitney Deason; No. 65 Jessica Nguyen
UCLA: No. 20 Laura Gordon; No. 45 Tracy Lin; No. 106 Ashley Joelson; No. 108 Alex McGoodwin; No. 122 Anna-Viktoria Lind
USC: No. 9 Amanda Fink; No. 25 Dianne Matias; No. 47 Luana Magnani; No. 52 Lindsey Nelson
WASHINGTON STATE: No. 90 Ekaterina Burduli

In doubles, Pac-10 women's teams hold seven spots among the Top-60, with five schools represented. The Stanford Cardinal tandem of Alice Barnes and Anne Yelsey are the top-ranked doubles team in the nation.

ARIZONA STATE: No. 19 Kady Pooler/Roxanne Clarke
CALIFORNIA: No. 13 Suzi Babos/Zsusanna Fodor
STANFORD: No. 1 Alica Barnes/Anne Yelsey; No. 27 Amber Lui/Celia Durkin
UCLA: No. 25 Laura Gorden/Riza Zalameda
USC: No. 22 Luana Magnani/Lindsey Nelson; No. 47 Luana Magnani/Amanda Fink

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder