Cardinal Travels to Ojai for Pac-10 Individual Championships

April 26, 2006

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The Cardinal: Stanford finished the regular season 15-3 overall and 6-1 in the Pacific-10 Conference, giving it a share of the conference title for the first time since the 2003 season ... The Cardinal won its last four dual matches and nine of its last 10 as it heads into this week's Pac-10 Individual Championships at Ojai, California ... Stanford will then compete in the NCAA Regionls May 13-14 and attempt to earn a spot in the NCAA Championships, which will be held at Stanford beginning May 20.

Pac-10 Championship: Stanford claimed a share of the Pac-10 team championship for the 15th time in school history and the first since the 2003 season ... The Cardinal finished with a 6-1 conference reading, tied with UCLA for the league championship (Washington can earn a share of the Pac-10 title if it defeats Cal on April 26) ... Stanford beat Arizona, Arizona State, USC, Washington, Oregon and Cal in league play with its only loss coming at UCLA.

In the Rankings: Three Cardinal players are currently ranked nationally in singles, including Matt Bruch at No. 15, KC Corkery at No. 24 and James Pade at No. 113 ... Bruch is 20-8 overall this season while Corkery is 24-4 and Pade is 23-6 ... In doubles, Corkery and Pade are ranked No. 23 with a 13-3 overall record in 2006.

At the Pac-10's: Each Pac-10 team has four singles players and two doubles teams compete for the individual titles ... For Stanford, Matt Bruch, KC Corkery, James Pade and James Wan will vie for the conference crown ... The Cardinal's two doubles team will be Corkery and Pade and Bruch and Blake Muller ... The remainder of the team will compete in the Pac-10 Invitational Tournament.

A Year Ago: Last year at the Pac-10 Championships, Stanford claimed both the singles and doubles championships as Sam Warburg won the singles title and Warbur and Corkery teammed to win the doubles crown.

Pac-10 Individual Championships: The Pac-10's nine women's teams and eight men's teams head to Ojai, Calif., Thurs., April 27 through Sun., April 30, to decide the league's singles and doubles champions ... The 32-player men's singles draw shall consist of four student-athletes from each school, and the 16-team doubles draw shall consist of two doubles teams from each school ...For the women, the 32-player singles draw shall consist of three players from each of the nine schools that sponsor women's tennis, with five additional competitors selected by a committee of coaches, based upon the participants record. The 16-team doubles draw will have one doubles team from each school and seven additional teams selected by the committee, based upon the participants record.

What and Where: Pac-10 competition will be held in conjunction with the 106th Annual Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament ...The Pac-10 men will compete at Libbey Park in Ojai for all rounds ...The Pac-10 women will play at the Ojai Valley Athletic Club Thurs., April 27, and Fri., April 28 ... All semifinal and final matches on Sat., April 29, and Sun., April 30, are at Libbey Park ... Matches begin at 8 a.m., with two rounds of singles on opening day ... One round of singles and two rounds of doubles will be played on Friday ...Semifinals and finals will be held at a time yet to be determined.

Ojai History: The Ojai, as it is known in tennis circles, is the oldest amateur tennis tournament in the United States and has been interrupted only five years since its inception - in 1924 by hoof and mouth disease and four years during World War II ... Pac-10 schools have competed in intercollegiate events in 95 of The Ojai's 105 tournaments beginning in 1911 ... Championship medals are awarded in both singles and doubles and the winner's names are inscribed on permanent trophies displayed each year at the tournament.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder