No. 2 Cal faces No. 16 Stanford in the Big Row

April 26, 2006

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

This Week: The No. 2 California Golden Bears face No. 16 Stanford this weekend at Redwood Shores. Cal will be facing the Cardinal for the second time this year. The Cardinal faced the Bears at this year's San Diego Crew Classic, which Cal won. In last year's Big Row, the Bears' varsity eight, then ranked No. 1, swept then-No. 8 Stanford.

Cal will be watching nine seniors row their final race at Redwood Shores this weekend. Seniors Gina Antonini, Erin Cafaro, Erin Reinhardt, and Kaylan Vander Schilden will be racing in the varsity eight boat. Courtney Beeckler, Natasha LaBelle, Liz Lee, Naomi Markle, and Sabine Zimmermann will also be racing at Redwood Shores for the final time in the Big Row.

History of The Big Row: The women's Big Row began in 1976 and Cal, which won last year's race, leads the all-time series, 20-10. The Bears have dominated the series in stretches, winning five in a row from 1997-02, and four straight from 1991-94. Stanford posted a three-year winning streak from 1982-84.

Racing Schedule:

9:40 a.m. PDT    Women's Third Varsity Eight9:50 a.m. PDT    Women's Varsity Four, B10:00 a.m. PDT   Women's Varsity Four, A10:10 a.m. PDT   Women's Varsity Eight10:30 a.m. PDT   Women's Second Varsity Eight10:50 a.m. PDT   Women's Novice Eight

Washington Recap (April 22, 2006): The Bears won three of the four races against the Huskies, beating Washington in a dual race for the third straight year. The varsity eight, varsity four and novice eight were all victorious over Washington, but the Huskies avoided a sweep by winning the second varsity eight race by six seconds. Cal's coxed varsity four defeated the Huskies by 21 seconds. The Bears' varsity eight defeated Washington by nearly two full seconds and the novice eight won its race by three seconds.

Looking Ahead: After the Big Row, the Bears will begin preparation, for the Pac-10 Championships on May 14. Last year, the Bears varsity eight and second varsity eight won their championships, while Cal's novice eight finished second to Washington. The Bears won their second consecutive team championship on their way to a first ever NCAA championship. The second varsity eight looks to win its fourth consecutive Pac-10 championship, a feat never before achieved by a Cal crew.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder