Cooper, Leslie and Thompson Selected As WNBA All-Decade Team Nominees

April 27, 2006

Three of USC's prestigious women's basketball alums have received new accolades in recognition of their stellar careers as nominees for the WNBA All-Decade Team. Former Women of Troy Cynthia Cooper, Lisa Leslie and Tina Thompson are all nominees for the team, which can be voted on by logging onto The Trojan trio are on a 30-member list of nominees that have been selected by a panel of national media, coaches, former players and WNBA personnel.

While at USC, Cooper, Leslie and Thompson all helped establish a winning tradition at Troy. Cooper (1982-84, 86) scored 1,559 points for the Women of Troy in her career, helping lead USC to its back-to-back NCAA championships in 1983 and 1984. Leslie (1992-94) ended her USC career as a three-time All-American with 2,414 career points. As a senior, Leslie was named the 1994 Naismith National Player of the Year. Thompson (1994-97) also was a three-time All-American and scored 2,248 points for USC before being the first-ever player drafted into the WNBA, where she won four consecutive WNBA championships with the Houston Comets.

The final All-Decade Team will be pared down to 10 as determined by fan, select national and WNBA-market media and current WNBA players and coaches voting. The team will be announced in June and honored at the 2006 WNBA All-Star Game scheduled to beheld at Madison Square Garden in New York on July 12.

For more information on the WNBA All-Decade Team, visit the WNBA web site at

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder